title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: WHS "not connected to server"

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    26

    WHS "not connected to server"

    My Transporter and Squeezeboxes have all gone dark.When I try to start WHS on my laptop I get the above message.Nothing's been unplugged.How do I get things running again?

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    26

    Re: WHS "not connected to server"

    I've managed to bring things back to life by swiching off RipNAS,switching off the router and the switching them back on again.
    Now,however,my WHS network is critical.When I click into the red icon,I'm given a horrifying list of problems :-
    "The back up database has errors.
    Back up service not running.
    Storage Status - ST315003 4T AS has failed.Ensure it is connected.If the problem continues,add a new hard drive and then remove the failed hard drive from your server storage using the console."
    There are then listed file conflicts :-
    Recorded TV shared folder
    Public shared folder
    Software shared folder
    Sonos shared folder
    Videos shard folder
    Photos shared folder
    Robert shared folder
    Music shared folder.
    The RipNAS was recently shipped back to Austria for a replacement DVD drive.What is needed to put things right?

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    42,155

    Re: WHS "not connected to server"

    One of your HDDs has died, you will have to return to have it replaced.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    26

    Re: WHS "not connected to server"

    Spoon,
    Could you give me mCube's address again,please.
    Do I need to send the extra HDD box this time,the one that sits beneath the RipNAS?

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    42,155

    Re: WHS "not connected to server"

    hfx.at is their web site - they will likely want to work with you to find out which HDD has failed, internal or external.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    26

    Re: WHS "not connected to server"

    After several emails from Ernst at mCubed,they reached the same conclusion that an HDD had failed.I've posted it back to Austria .

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    26

    Re: hi from fan

    Dear Mr Spoon,
    My RipNAS has returned from Vienna repaired and ready to roll.
    Unfortunately,the power supply brick appears to have failed.When I plug it in,the LED flashes in time to a clicking sound from the brick.It's labelled 12V 5A 60W.Where can I get a relacement,please?
    Also,when it's up and running again,I'd like to rig up an automatic back-up of the HDD's to an external drive.WHS is on a laptop,the RipNAS is on a shelf with the hi-fi.How to I go about this?
    Many thanks,
    Robert.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    42,155

    Re: hi from fan

    HFX would be able to supply a new PSU for you.

    See re backup:

    http://www.informationweek.com/byte/...mory/231000247

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    26

    Re: hi from fan

    Many thanks, Spoon.I'll give HDX a call in the morning and sort out the back up so I don't lose data in the future.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    26

    Re: hi from fan

    Received the new power supply from Austria today.It allowed the RipNAS to power up and deliver music but,unfortunately, only for an hour or so before crashing.Neither blue or yellow light illuminated.
    I've reached the end of my tether now.The repair cost me 300 plus postage and insurance.Not good value for an hour's music.
    Do you know anywhere I can sell this 1TB RipNAS with 3TB storage box.Very little use since new in 2009 with replacement CD drive and two new factory fitted hard disc drives?

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    42,155

    Re: hi from fan

    I would contact HFX once more and see what they suggest.
    I do not see you being able to sell the RipNAS in a non-working state for anything more than a token value, ebay would be a starting point.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    26

    Re: hi from fan

    Spoon,
    It was the new power supply that had failed.HFX are sending a replacement.
    Whilst the RipNAS briefly worked,I noticed about 2000 of my ripped CDs are now no longer present after the HDD failures and the CDs still present have tracks missing.
    If I re-rip the CDs still on the RipNAS will it over-wright the original,spoilt version or will I then have two versions of each CD,one with missing tracks and one complete?
    Is it best to wipe everything and devote another large chunk of my life re-ripping my collection?

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    42,155

    Re: hi from fan

    It should overwrite the original (if it is there),

    If there are a few duplicates it should be easy to find and delete.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    26

    Re: hi from fan

    Spoon,
    I received a replacement power brick to replace the replacement which failed after an hour or so's use.The system is up and running again.
    My next problem is that Windows Home Server won't recognise my password.How can I rectify this, please?

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    42,155

    Re: hi from fan

    Contact www.hfx.at they will be able to assist with the password.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •