PDA

View Full Version : converting Live-Cd's to MP3



sven.meuwis
06-30-2005, 02:33 PM
Hello there,

anybody can help me with this one:
when ripping live-Cd's (or sometimes other CD's where 2 numbers flow in each-other) to MP3, there are these annoying gaps between the numbers, really irritating.

Possibility is "ripping-as-one" option, but then you only have one track.

I got a lot of CD's to rip these days (I'm selling my collection of >2000 Cd's and want to keep them saved as MP3), so I really would appreciate possible solutions (fast solutions) to this problem.

Help!!! :(

Tomb
06-30-2005, 04:31 PM
Hello there,

anybody can help me with this one:
when ripping live-Cd's (or sometimes other CD's where 2 numbers flow in each-other) to MP3, there are these annoying gaps between the numbers, really irritating.

Possibility is "ripping-as-one" option, but then you only have one track.

I got a lot of CD's to rip these days (I'm selling my collection of >2000 Cd's and want to keep them saved as MP3), so I really would appreciate possible solutions (fast solutions) to this problem.

Help!!! :(

That's the problem of the mp3 format in general. You can use an application like EAC to rip the CD with a cue sheet. It will still be one large file but the cue sheet will tell a compatible player where the tracks are. Or use a natively gapless format like ogg vorbis.

However I would back up ypur CD's into a lossless format such as FLAC or Wavpack if I were you. You then can transcode those to a lossy format like mp3 as and when you need to. Okay the space required to store them will be larger but at least you will have copies comparable to your CD unlike a lossy format.

I have to ask if you sell your CD's and rip to mp3, which is illegal in most countries as you are supposed to have the original disc as well, what are you going to do if a virus or crash hits your collection and you have no CD's to fallback on? Just wondering.