PDA

View Full Version : The CODEC required to compress ?



garyguthrie
12-04-2003, 04:12 PM
I get this message when trying to convert a .wav file that was set at 44.1, 24-bit, stereo:
"The CODEC required to compress 'C:\Documents and Settings\Gary\Desktop\intimateconcerts\xx1.mp3' could not be opened."
I didn't see any CODECS I was missing, however, and none at codec central that seemed to apply to this error.
Is it because the bitrate is too high?

Spoon
12-04-2003, 06:53 PM
Try different bitrates and frequecies on the mp3 page.

Unregistered
12-06-2003, 09:20 PM
I loaded and reloaded all of the dbpowerAMP tools. When using the AUX to copy a tape, I get the listed message, (CODEC required to decompress...could not be opened). I've changed the bitrate, freq., uninstalled, reinstalled but no luck. Is there a particular CODEC I need for this process.

Spoon
12-07-2003, 08:01 AM
Shouldn't be, the error might be something else, for a test try recording to Wave, does that work?

reddwarfau
12-09-2003, 10:38 PM
Im having the same problem,The CODEC required to compress 'C:\tmp\TARDIS TAKEOFF.mp3.TEMP.mp3' could not be opened. Ive tried alsorts as well still no luck. hhhheeeeeeeellllllllllppppppppppppp

Unregistered
12-10-2003, 04:47 PM
Ok, I found my problem. Just an oversight. When I checked tyhe options icon and the window came up, I had 'Record Using...' set to 'default'. I changed that to ESS AudioDrive Record 220 and, no more error message. Thanks for the feedback, Spoon.

reddwarfau
12-11-2003, 06:03 AM
well that didnt help me

Spoon
12-11-2003, 05:18 PM
Red dwarf, are you recording using Auxinput?

Unregistered
12-12-2003, 11:54 AM
i am having the same problem converting from flac to wav. it has worked flawlessly on every set of music files but one, and i cannot see a difference between these files that get the error message and the ones that dont. any suggestions?

Spoon
12-13-2003, 11:47 AM
Corrupt file?

Unregistered
03-09-2004, 08:28 AM
I have a perfectly clean install of the pack dbpoweramp r10. I'm using XP with all updates.
I get that error converting a simple wav to mp3 with the lame codec.
I reinstalled and it didn't help much.
Should i uninstall and use another working program?