title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: Changing names from "The ABC" to "ABC, The"

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Australia/Brazil/Germany
    Posts
    19

    Changing names from "The ABC" to "ABC, The"

    Hi,

    How can I change that dbPoweramp doesn't change the folder's name from "The ABC" to "ABC, The"?
    The flac folder is named "Allman Brothers". After the conversion dbPoweramp renamed the folder to "Allman Brothers, The" (and it does so with The Cure, The Who, The Corrs etc). Why and how can I change that please?
    Thank you kindly.

    Cheers
    Caesar

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,440

    Re: Changing names from "The ABC" to "ABC, The"

    Seems like you use Album Artist Sort in your naming string and that those tags contain the name followed by comma and the.



    Dat Ei

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Australia/Brazil/Germany
    Posts
    19

    Re: Changing names from "The ABC" to "ABC, The"

    Hallo Dat Ei (das vom Huhn?),

    I better attached a screenshot for better understanding.
    There you see the folder is named "Allman Brothers" but dbPoweramp automatically shows it as "Allman Brothers, The".
    What the heck??? I'm buffed why...

    Cheers
    Caesar

    dbpa.jpg

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    5,030

    Re: Changing names from "The ABC" to "ABC, The"

    Post your naming string here. I also suspect you use sort tag info in the naming string.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Australia/Brazil/Germany
    Posts
    19

    Re: Changing names from "The ABC" to "ABC, The"

    Quote Originally Posted by garym View Post
    Post your naming string here. I also suspect you use sort tag info in the naming string.
    Thank you for your reply. Where can I see the naming string?

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    5,030

    Re: Changing names from "The ABC" to "ABC, The"

    Quote Originally Posted by Caesar View Post
    Thank you for your reply. Where can I see the naming string?
    CD Ripper screen, bottom left. On "Naming" row, click "SET" to the right side. This will take you to a popup screen that has your naming string at the top. Mine has:

    [MAXLENGTH]240,[IFCOMP]Compilations\[album][IFMULTI]\Disc [disc][]\[track] - [title] - [artist][][IF!COMP][IFVALUE]album artist,[album artist],[artist][]\[album][IFMULTI]\Disc [disc][]\[track] - [title][][]
    Last edited by garym; 03-07-2021 at 10:10 AM.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Australia/Brazil/Germany
    Posts
    19

    Re: Changing names from "The ABC" to "ABC, The"

    Thanks again.
    I'm using the Batch Converter. But here is the string of the converter:
    [IFVALUE]album artist,[album artist],[IFCOMP]Various Artists[][IF!COMP][artist][][]\[album]\[track] - [artist] - [title]

    Cheers
    Caesar

  8. #8
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    5,030

    Re: Changing names from "The ABC" to "ABC, The"

    Then perhaps the files you are converting already had ARTIST or ALBUM ARTIST set to use what would normally be the "ARTIST SORT" value (i.e., Allman
    Brothers Band, The vs "The Allman Brothers Band").

    Take a look at some of the files you are converting and see if the ARTIST tag has the (name, The) content. Did you rip these original files? If so, it is the naming string you used when ripping that would be relevant here. In any case, dbpa is just doing what it is told, and using your content of whatever is in the existing ARTIST and ALBUM ARTIST tag fields.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Australia/Brazil/Germany
    Posts
    19

    Re: Changing names from "The ABC" to "ABC, The"

    I'm sorry, I don't understand the structure of the dbPoweramp program (and I could not find any manual to read through).
    What does the CD-Ripper settings has to do with the Batch Converter?

    I ripped all my CDs (around 2500) to flac and store them in various places since quite a few CDs got f**ked up and are not playing anymore. Tropical climate was not considered when creating the CDs...

    I used MP3Tag to organize, properly Tag and add the proper album image to all my CDs correctly (which took me around 4 weeks).

    So what do I need to do now to convert the flac files to MP3 format for my car and to m4a format for my cell phone please?

    Thank you kindly! :-)

    Cheers
    Caesar

  10. #10
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    5,030

    Re: Changing names from "The ABC" to "ABC, The"

    Sorry,I'm asking a much more simple question. dbpa is only using the names of the ARTIST and ALBUM ARTIST fields that already exist in your files that you are converting. I'm asking you to look at one of those FLAC files that you think is producing an incorrect artist name and see what it say. Easy to do in mp3tag that you use. Just right click on the file, then choose extended tags. See what the ARTIST or ALBUM ARTIST names say. Do they say, for example, "Allman Brothers Band, The"? If so, that's why dbpa batch converter is picking up this info.
    ""

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Australia/Brazil/Germany
    Posts
    19

    Re: Changing names from "The ABC" to "ABC, The"

    Ok, here is a screenshot.
    Thanks again.

    Cheers
    Caesar :-)

    dbpa1.jpg

  12. #12
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    5,030

    Re: Changing names from "The ABC" to "ABC, The"

    Quote Originally Posted by Caesar View Post
    Ok, here is a screenshot.
    Thanks again.

    Cheers
    Caesar :-)

    dbpa1.jpg

    I can't see any of your screen shots as they all say waiting approval.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Australia/Brazil/Germany
    Posts
    19

    Re: Changing names from "The ABC" to "ABC, The"

    Here are the screenshots since this forum does not allow me to show images.

    http://www.seatemple.com/dbpa.jpg

    and

    http://www.seatemple.com/dbpa1.jpg

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Australia/Brazil/Germany
    Posts
    19

    Re: Changing names from "The ABC" to "ABC, The"

    I just posted links and now it shows:
    Thank you for posting! Your post will not be visible until a moderator has approved it for posting.

    What is going on here?!

  15. #15
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,796

    Re: Changing names from "The ABC" to "ABC, The"

    In file explorer navigate to this file:
    F:\MusicFlac\Allman Brothers Band, The\Brothers and Sisters\01 Allman Brothers Band - Wasted Words.flac

    Right-click on the file, select Edit ID-Tag from the context menu and the dBpoweramp: Edit ID-Tag window should open. Please post a screenshot showing ALL the contents of this window.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •