title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Silent Install using command switches in a batch command

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Mississauga
    Posts
    4

    Question Silent Install using command switches in a batch command

    [FONT=Tahoma]
    I am completely lost.......I need silent command switches for installind db10....I'd like to incluse the install in my WinXP CD.........what command do I use?

    Thanks
    Steve:vmad:

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,262

    Re: Silent Install using command switches in a batch command

    run dmc setup passing:

    <Silent>

    on the command line.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Mississauga
    Posts
    4

    Re: Silent Install using command switches in a batch command

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon
    run dmc setup passing:

    <Silent>

    on the command line.

    Thanks, Spoon, but I tried it and it didn't work, here's an example of a batch command I use for Nero Burning Rom, using a similar technique:

    ECHO Installing Nero Ultra Burning ROM v6.0.0.23
    ECHO Please wait...
    start /wait %systemdrive%\Nero\Nero60023.exe /silent /noreboot
    ECHO.
    ECHO Registering Nero Ultra Burning ROM...
    REGEDIT /S %systemdrive%\Nero\Register.reg
    ECHO.
    EXIT, I even tried that particular command structure, and even THAT didn't work with dB10....... now, I'm lost...lol
    Last edited by XL-DJK95355; 11-18-2003 at 09:04 AM.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,262

    Re: Silent Install using command switches in a batch command

    make sure you have the right case:

    <Silent>

    it should work, Sveta installs dMC this way.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Mississauga
    Posts
    4

    Re: Silent Install using command switches in a batch command

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon
    make sure you have the right case:

    <Silent>

    it should work, Sveta installs dMC this way.

    Well, Spoon, it doesn't...so I'm completely lost....... I have no Idea:yawn:


    This is what I've inputed to try out:

    Start - Run - c:\db10Gold.exe /s
    Start - Run - c:\db10Gold.exe <Silent>
    Start - Run - c:\db10Gold.exe /S
    Start - Run - c:\db10Gold.exe -u -s

    they're no good, I still get the Install popup as orignal
    Last edited by XL-DJK95355; 11-19-2003 at 07:29 PM.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,262

    Re: Silent Install using command switches in a batch command

    Try:

    Start - Run - "c:\db10Gold.exe" <Silent>

    If will offer to uninstall the old version, I have fixed this for the final r10 release.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    2

    Re: Silent Install using command switches in a batch command

    Hi everybody, I'm trying to install a few codecs silently but with no luck... I tried using <Silent> and --silent but for these codecs: Arrange Audio, Audio Info, Channel Split, Id Tag Update,MonkeysAudio and WavPack it doesn't work and the setup runs in standard mode... can you help me? Is it possible to silently install those codecs? Thanks!

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,262

    Re: Silent Install using command switches in a batch command

    These old installs do not support it, sorry.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    2

    Re: Silent Install using command switches in a batch command

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    These old installs do not support it, sorry.
    Absolutely no problem, Spoon! I was only curious to find out if (and in what) I was making any mistake. Thank you VERY much for your amazing work, you're GREAT!! ^_^

  10. #10

    Re: Silent Install using command switches in a batch command

    I am trying to do something similar, but it doesn't seem to work. I think I have correctly escaped the <> characters. But I can't even do this from a CMD prompt.

    FOR %i IN (*.exe) DO "%i" ^<Silent^>

    or even this from the command line:

    "dMC-R15.3-Ref-Registered.exe" ^<Silent^>

    It really doesn't like the <> characters. In future builds, could you incorporate normal options like /s?

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    3

    Re: Silent Install using command switches in a batch command

    wrote my own installer for this, including a codec pack for all codecs

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2

    Smile Re: Silent Install using command switches in a batch command

    Place "<Silent>" switch in batch file as below:
    Add taskkill to make it completely silent:

    Echo Installing dBpowerAMP and Codecs...

    start /wait %systemdrive%\Install\dBpowerAMP.exe "<Silent>"
    taskkill /F /IM musicconverter.exe

    Echo Done!

    "<Silent>" works for codecs as well, but taskkill is not necessary for these.
    Last edited by Razzor; 07-22-2005 at 12:44 PM.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    10

    Re: Silent Install using command switches in a batch command

    thank's for Help, I tried a lot until I realized that "<Silent>" swich is case sensitive :vmad:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •