title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Usability tweaks for CD Ripper

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ash
    • Feb 2007

Usability tweaks for CD Ripper

(Background Info: I've been using iTunes for a few years, but have installed dMC so I can rip my CD collection to FLAC.)

First, file naming and path:
    The onscreen help from within CD Ripper doesn't match the Naming.htm help file. In particular, the onscreen help is missing the IFEQUALS syntax and examples.
    Programmatically, I suggest you make the all the IF commands consistent with IFVALUE, which allows an optional ELSE clause, e.g.:
    [IFEQUALS]tag,equals,stringequals, stringnoteequals[]
    This could reduce the complexity of naming requirements like this:
    I am having a hard time with the naming setup. Hopefully someone can help. Ideally, what I would like: Single artists go to: Flac/Artist/Album/Artist - Album - ## - Title Various Artist: Flac/Various Artist/Album - ## - Artist - Title Various Artist (Soundtracks - special cases): Flac/Soundtracks/Album - ##

Auto-ripping:
    You can configure dMC to auto-eject, but not to auto-rip (or, if you can, it's not at all obvious.) I'm used to iTunes automatically ripping anything I stick in the drive, and ejecting it after it's finished. At the moment, I'm leaving my CDs for ten or fifteen minutes doing nothing before realising I have to do two things: 1) Hit 'Refresh' or 'Retry' to tell dMC the CD has changed, and THEN 2) I have to hit 'Rip' again. Having to do this for every CD is a waste of the users time.
    (If auto-ripping is posssible, please tell me how, and make it more obvious in the UI - e.g. the Options menu or dbPoweramp Configuration tool)

AccurateRip: