title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Normalising playback levels of music files in a car. BMW 3 series.

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Orchardmead
    • Dec 2012

Normalising playback levels of music files in a car. BMW 3 series.

Please forgive me, but I am completely new to all this. I am having a problem digesting everything and putting it into practice.

I have a later BMW 3 series and it has a 20gb hard drive in the Professional Media Centre for storing and playing back music in compressed format. I have some old music files stored in mp3 format that I ripped years ago. I have put these files onto a USB drive and imported them into the car's Hard Drive as described by the handbook and allowed in the car menu system. This is one way of importing music and playing it back. It works fine.

Also the car has a CD/DVD player and the car's Professional Media Centre gives me the option of importing CDs and DVDs of various formats onto the Hard Drive whilst they are playing. Again in compressed format. This works fine also.

The problem I have is that these imported mp3 files and albums imported from the CD player, all play back at different volume levels. This causes a lot of grief and as I understand it, is a common problem.

The car's menu handbook says it plays back compressed audio files: mp3, wma, aac, m4a, m4b,ogg.

Just recently I have ripped all my CDs to flac and have them all stored on a external HD. So now to my questions if I may.

1. Which is the best format to convert the flac files to for solely importing into the car? I was thinking of using a variable bit rate and .mp3 files for efficiency. Naturally I will be keeping my flac files for other conversions as I consider these as my master files and do not want to rip all my cds again. Is this the best way?