title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

My audio output messed up after installation

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • themadone
    • Nov 2012

My audio output messed up after installation

I decided to test dBpoweramp Music Converter R14.3. I installed it with all the default settings and proceeded to rip a cd of mine in high uncompressed quality. After it finished, I started playing my Winamp playlist that consists of only mp3 files, as I usually do when I'm working on somethng that takes a little while. I had listened to tracks on the same playlist before installing the dbCD ripper and there were no sound problems.

The mp3's volume levels on my playlist are normalized to the perfect level, I have Winamp's volume bar to 100% and there's no distortion whatsoever. Now AFTER installation of the dBpoweramp Music Converter R14.3, the audio levels are completely messed up. The same songs I was listening to earlier are now blaring with extreme distortion and I have to lower Winamp's volume down to around 60% to get it to how it used to sound before installation, only now it sounds much lower.

I have played around with my sound card's settings, nothing was ever touched in those. I have uninstalled the program, no change. Tried System Restore, it doesn't fix it. I have done my best to reinstall my codecs (just in case a questionable one was installed with dBpoweramp Music Converter
    R14.3), nothing. Played those same mp3s on other software like MPC, WMP12, Gom player, Zoom player, Quicktime, iTunes, even a few video editors, the result is exactly the same. Uninstalled and reinstalled my sound card, no change. Tried a DIFFERENT driver, no change. This distortion happens with all audio formats, including flac and wave.

Now it seems like I'll be forced to reinstall Windows because something is FUBAR and I can't fix it. What can I do, damn it??? I'm on Windows 7 Ultimate x64.