title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Total noob needs help.

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • raid517
    • Jul 2005

Total noob needs help.

Hi it's true I'm afraid, I'm a total codec noob. The thing is most of my stuff is recorded in Flac and I want to convert this to the most exteme highest possible quality setting for Apple Lossless so that I can tranfer this to my 60GB Iphoto Ipod.

Can anyone suggest what is the best settings to use? I selected 500 VBR for the apple lossless compression, but this said that it was only a 'low complexity' conversion. But I want no loss whatsoever from the original to the conversion (while still trying to save some space). The resulting file sizes are about 1/3rd of the original FLAC source. Is it possible that the Apple lossless encoder is really that efficient, or am I still loosing data?

What is the advantage of 'VBR'?

GJ
    Last edited by raid517; 07-29-2005, 12:19 PM.
  • xoas
    dBpoweramp Guru
    • Apr 2002

Re: Total noob needs help.

I'm afraid I can't be of much help as I don't use iTunes or Apple lossless. But once you adopt to a lossless codec the quality should be the same regardless of the degree of compression you use. So a highly compressed Flac file should sound exactly the same as a less compressed Flac file. Where the degree of compression varies the trade-offs are strictly in terms of file size (high compression leads to smaller files) vs. conversion time (low compression is faster). The same is true of Apple Lossless.

I cannot access a window for the Apple Lossless/mp4/m4a codec (because I don't use iTunes) but I suspect that your Apple Lossless file should be about the same size as your Flac file. I base this supposition on the following from the Help file for this codec: