title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Problems accessing Asset on Synology DSM7

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2023
    Posts
    4

    Problems accessing Asset on Synology DSM7

    I replaced my NAS with a Synology DS223j running DSM7. Initially Asset ran okay, but the indexing of my library had many albums producing multiple duplicates making playing them impossible. I uninstalled Asset and then ran it again - this time only a limited number of composers show with errors in the indexing showing different albums under the limited number of composers and many fewer than the 3000 or so albums that are stored on the NAS. I can access all of these using the native Synology indexing (but with the inherent limitations of this). After Asset has been running on the NAS for some time, it seems to stop working with the Naim streamer app that I am using. Does anyone have a solution to this please?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    43,879

    Re: Problems accessing Asset on Synology DSM7

    On the asset configuration page, what library location is set? there should be only 1 location there.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2023
    Posts
    4

    Re: Problems accessing Asset on Synology DSM7

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    On the asset configuration page, what library location is set? there should be only 1 location there.
    Thanks
    I think the basic problem here is that I don't really understand the principles of what I am doing. I previously had a ZoneRipper acting as my NAS and running Asset effectively. I removed the ZoneRipper and added the Synology NAS, using your standard protocol with all the guidance on settings to install Asset on the Synology NAS. This resulted in a lot of duplication and corruptions. I have Asset installed on my iMac which is where I assume I edit the settings. I went there and changed the library location to the location on the Synology NAS, which Finder sees on my network (all hard wired incidentally)Screenshot 2024-02-02 at 10.20.12.jpgScreenshot 2024-02-02 at 10.20.58.jpg. I think that Asset has either fully or partially scanned this library according to the Control Panel (attachment shown).
    I use a Naim streamer with the Naim App and this now sees Asset on the list of UPnP servers and allows me to access the library but then spools with no results showing. This is intermittent as if I try again it gets me as far as composer but then no further. I am at a loss to know where to go from here.
    I have rebooted everything to see if there is a problem with cache memory on the network but with no benefit.
    Thanks for your help

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    43,879

    Re: Problems accessing Asset on Synology DSM7

    Your screenshots are of asset running on the Mac, you should remove Asset on the MAC as it just confusing the issue. Then click on the configuration page on the synology (from the dashboard of the synology).

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2023
    Posts
    4

    Re: Problems accessing Asset on Synology DSM7

    Screenshot 2024-02-02 at 11.30.50.jpgScreenshot 2024-02-02 at 11.30.29.jpg
    Okay thanks. I have deleted Asset from the iMac.
    I am now looking at the Synology via the web portal and when I try to configure which I assume I do by opening the Asset icon, it directs me to a login under the name of Tarquin. I have no login under this name. Where do I go from here.

    Apologies for being dumb.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    43,879

    Re: Problems accessing Asset on Synology DSM7

    Where is says URL click that one.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2023
    Posts
    4

    Re: Problems accessing Asset on Synology DSM7

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    Where is says URL click that one.
    All I get is a blank screen and then Safari cannot open the page.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1,365

    Re: Problems accessing Asset on Synology DSM7

    It appears that Synology is giving you a link using your internet (public) IP, instead of the local network area address. This will not work, Asset is not meant to be accessible from the internet.

    I just wrote a help article about this scenario:
    https://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthr...iguration-page

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •