title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: CD Ripper - [length] fields ripping as 'blanks' (ie no data) in the output file name

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2023
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    5

    CD Ripper - [length] fields ripping as 'blanks' (ie no data) in the output file name

    MY PROBLEM (Ripping and Converting)
    When attempting to include a track’s duration in the output filename / directory string all available fields appear to be empty or “blank” (i.e. [length]; [length_mmss]; [length_hhmmss]).

    This problem exists with each CD I have tried and also when I use Music Converter to create an .mp3 copy of the .flac track that I ripped.

    MY QUESTIONS
    What am I doing wrong or have failed to set somewhere else, or is this a known “bug/feature” of the current release?
    I want to include the track Duration in my final set-up for ripping my collection of some 1500 CD’s so do I have to add this as a manual tag? I hope there is a simple fix or am I being unrealistic?

    MY ENVIRONMENT
    dBpoweramp Complete - Music Converter - Release 2023-01-20 (2)
    2021 MacBook Pro 16-inch - Apple M1 Max chip - macOS Ventura Version 13.1 (22C65)
    Apple - SuperDrive

    SIMPLE EXAMPLE
    In the rip example log below the Track2 duration is showing as 3:08 which is what appears against that track on the CD Ripper page. (The album sleeve lists it as 3:05 - so no issue here). The Start and End LBA values match the CD Ripper page also so CD Ripper appears to have all the data it needs to hand.

    The Dynamic Naming for this test example is set as:
    [MAXLENGTH]80,[IFVALUE]album artist,[album artist],[IFCOMP]Various Artists[][IF!COMP][artist][][][]/[MAXLENGTH]80,[album][]/[MAXLENGTH]80,[track] [artist] - [title][] - [length] - [length_mmss] - [length_hhmmss]

    Which ended up in the output file name as:
    02 Doug Ashdown - I'm Going Away - - - .flac
    (i.e. each of the three track length fields are blank.
    —————————
    SECURE RIPPING LOG.TXT
    dBpoweramp Release 2023-01-20 Digital Audio Extraction Log from 2023-02-11 13:57:41
    OS version: Version 13.1 (Build 22C65)

    Drive & Settings
    ----------------

    Ripping with drive 'disk6 [Apple - SuperDrive]', Drive offset: 0, Overread Lead-in/out: No
    AccurateRip: Active, Using C2: No, Cache: 1024 KB, FUA Cache Invalidate: No
    Pass 1 Drive Speed: Max, Pass 2 Drive Speed: Max
    Bad Sector Re-rip:: Drive Speed: Max, Maximum Re-reads: 34

    Encoder: FLAC -compression-level-5
    DSP Effects / Actions: -dspeffect1="ReplayGain= -albummode={qt}0{qt} -r128lufs={qt}-18{qt} -maxtgain=25"

    Extraction Log
    --------------

    Track 2: Ripped LBA 12606 to 26717 (3:08) in 0:23. Filename: /Users/Kevin/Music/Doug Ashdown/Career Collection 1965-2000/02 Doug Ashdown - I'm Going Away - - - .flac
    AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 1) [Pass 1]
    CRC32: 287335D9 AccurateRip CRC: 35D231CC [DiscID: 021-003b67e6-038e565c-3c121f15-2]
    AccurateRip Verified Confidence 1 [CRCv2 35d231cc], Using Pressing Offset -30
    AccurateRip Verified Confidence 1 [CRCv2 56b965aa], Using Pressing Offset +6

    --------------

    1 Tracks Ripped Accurately
    —————————

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,740

    Re: CD Ripper - [length] fields ripping as 'blanks' (ie no data) in the output file n

    Have you checked the tag "Length" in "CD Ripper Options" -> "Meta Data & ID Tag" -> "Options"?


    Dat Ei

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Feb 2023
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    5

    Re: CD Ripper - [length] fields ripping as 'blanks' (ie no data) in the output file n

    Many thanks Dat Ei for the response.
    Issue still the same with all "Options" set (including "Length").
    Anything else I should check for?

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    438

    Re: CD Ripper - [length] fields ripping as 'blanks' (ie no data) in the output file n

    All I can say for sure is that with a stock installation of the latest trial on Windows your naming string worked fine with a rip to flac (without Length selected under Write ID Tags). I guess you'll want someone on a mac to test it.

  5. #5
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,740

    Re: CD Ripper - [length] fields ripping as 'blanks' (ie no data) in the output file n

    I would guess that only the rip can create the tag, which you can use for further operations then.


    Dat Ei

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    438

    Re: CD Ripper - [length] fields ripping as 'blanks' (ie no data) in the output file n

    Quote Originally Posted by Dat Ei View Post
    I would guess that only the rip can create the tag, which you can use for further operations then.
    From a quick test, you can use it in your dynamic naming string as part of a conversion whether it exists in the source files or not. Tested from FLAC to MP3.

  7. #7
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,740

    Re: CD Ripper - [length] fields ripping as 'blanks' (ie no data) in the output file n

    Ok, thank you!

    Dat Ei

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1,354

    Re: CD Ripper - [length] fields ripping as 'blanks' (ie no data) in the output file n

    Thanks for the report.

    Yes, it's a bug - these fields were just not being filled in correctly.
    Fixed in new beta build:
    https://www.dbpoweramp.com/beta/DMC-beta-2023-02-17.dmg

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Feb 2023
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    5

    Re: CD Ripper - [length] fields ripping as 'blanks' (ie no data) in the output file n

    Many thanks one and all.
    Is the date for next release set as yet?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •