title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Pre-Emphasis does not show in Track Technical column

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2022
    Posts
    4

    Pre-Emphasis does not show in Track Technical column

    I have a CD, target Beatles Abbey Road from Japan, but Pre-Emphasis is not showing in the track technical column. I want to apply De-Emphasis in the rip but preference says CD tracks need to be marked with Pre-Emphasis. If I rip it as is, will De-Emphasis be applied or not? If not, what should I do? Thank you for any help.

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    187

    Re: Pre-Emphasis does not show in Track Technical column

    It appears that disc doesn't have the pre-emphasis flags in the TOC - which is what CD Ripper checks - but I can't find anywhere that confirms if it's in the subcode either. If you wanted to confirm whether the disc has the pre-emphasis flags in the subcode you could rip your CD with either XLD on the mac or CUERipper on Windows and you should see 'FLAGS PRE' in the resulting CUE sheet (both rippers check TOC and subcode).

    If you're confident that your disc does have pre-emphasis, you can still rip it with CD Ripper and apply the DSP 'Audio CD - De-emphasis' in Music Converter afterwards.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2022
    Posts
    4

    Re: Pre-Emphasis does not show in Track Technical column

    Thank you.

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,963

    Re: Pre-Emphasis does not show in Track Technical column

    Quote Originally Posted by Pizza View Post
    I have a CD, target Beatles Abbey Road from Japan, but Pre-Emphasis is not showing in the track technical column.
    What is the catalog no. of your CD?

  5. #5

    Join Date
    May 2022
    Posts
    4

    Re: Pre-Emphasis does not show in Track Technical column

    Number on the side of the case is cp35-3016

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,963

    Re: Pre-Emphasis does not show in Track Technical column

    Discogs and the Pre-Emphasis user database are reporting CP35-3016 as being mastered with pre-emphasis.

    You could rip the CD without de-emphasis and use foobar2000 with the de-emphasis component installed, as your audio player.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    May 2022
    Posts
    4

    Re: Pre-Emphasis does not show in Track Technical column

    Thank you for your replies mville. I tried what simbun suggested. I haven't played it yet and not sure if I did it right. I was aware that this CD was mastered with pre-emphasis but a bit disappointed that the software couldn't recognize it though I realize it was how the CD itself was mastered. It did recognize it on another CD that I ripped this morning that I didn't know had pre-emphasis, so that's pretty cool!

    Thank you mville and simbun.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •