title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Getting Asset UPNP to reboot automatically on Raspberry Pi

  1. #1

    Getting Asset UPNP to reboot automatically on Raspberry Pi

    Dear everyone

    I have managed to install Asset onto a Raspberry Pi 4 Version 7.3 mounted in an Argon M.2 case with a 1TB WD Red SATA SSD installed. I can get Asset to work by clicking on the Asset UPNP file in (see below) It can read my music folders stored in Pi/Media/SSD/Lost and Found.

    Asset 1.jpg

    This brings up the following:

    Asset 2.jpg

    I tried the setting that was suggested on this forum:

    Asset 3.jpg

    As yet, I cannot get Asset to run on a reboot.

    I am very new to this, so I am sure I have made some very basic mistake.

    Any help would be very greatly appreciated.

    Kind regards,

    David
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    42,618

    Re: Getting Asset UPNP to reboot automatically on Raspberry Pi

    Check the line you have typed in to the contab, you can post the full line here?

  3. #3

    Re: Getting Asset UPNP to reboot automatically on Raspberry Pi

    Thanks for gettng back to me. The line I have typed in the contab is @reboot /bin/asset/Asset-R7.3-Linux-ARM32-registered/bin/AssetUPNP.

  4. #4

    Re: Getting Asset UPNP to reboot automatically on Raspberry Pi

    Under the Asset Folder I have an X11 subfolder with the same folder contents as the Asset one. I don't know if that has any bearing on this?

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    42,618

    Re: Getting Asset UPNP to reboot automatically on Raspberry Pi

    If you open a shell prompt and type:

    /bin/asset/Asset-R7.3-Linux-ARM32-registered/bin/AssetUPNP

    (I assume the . on the end is not present), does asset start?

  6. #6

    Re: Getting Asset UPNP to reboot automatically on Raspberry Pi

    Sorry in the delay in getting back. I have just tried typing the line in the shell prompt and the bash response was 'no such file or directory'. If I go into the directory and click on the Asset UPNP file (in grey) I am given the box 'This is an executable file. Do you want to open it in terminal?' If I click yes, Asset opens. Hope that is of some use.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    42,618

    Re: Getting Asset UPNP to reboot automatically on Raspberry Pi

    It means '/bin/asset/Asset-R7.3-Linux-ARM32-registered/bin/AssetUPNP' is not correct, something might be missspelt, or a capital letter is missing, double check the string, until you can manually start it in the shell, you cannot hope to get the crontab working.

    The correct one is:

    /bin/asset/Asset-R7.3-Linux-ARM32-registered/bin/AssetUPnP

  8. #8

    Re: Getting Asset UPNP to reboot automatically on Raspberry Pi

    Thanks for your help, I'll look more closely at that.

  9. #9

    Re: Getting Asset UPNP to reboot automatically on Raspberry Pi

    Asset now works automatically on reboot. Many thanks for pointing out the one error in my typing. I disconnected the pi from my computer and reconnected to my router. Asset restarts but cannot find my lost and found folder on the SSD on the Pi. I imagine this to do with a different IP address for the router compared with the computer. How can I reconfigure Asset to find my music from the router rather than the computer? Many thanks in advance.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    42,618

    Re: Getting Asset UPNP to reboot automatically on Raspberry Pi

    You would not use an IP address in asset, rather the local path, such as:

    /volume1/media/

  11. #11

    Re: Getting Asset UPNP to reboot automatically on Raspberry Pi

    Many thanks. I will try that.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Posts
    6

    Re: Getting Asset UPNP to reboot automatically on Raspberry Pi

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    It means '/bin/asset/Asset-R7.3-Linux-ARM32-registered/bin/AssetUPNP' is not correct, something might be missspelt, or a capital letter is missing, double check the string, until you can manually start it in the shell, you cannot hope to get the crontab working.

    The correct one is:

    /bin/asset/Asset-R7.3-Linux-ARM32-registered/bin/AssetUPnP


    Hello,

    I cannot get Asset to boot on machine reboot.

    The Asset install added a line to my crontab:
    @reboot /home/jeff/bin/AssetUPnP/AssetUPnP

    Asset does not start on machine reboot.
    Asset does start if I run the line inserted into crontab into a shell terminal.

    Is this a path thing?
    I tried reinstallng Asset from a folder in /usr/bin. Made no difference to where Asset installed itself (/home/jeff/bin/AssetUPnp).

    Thanks

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    42,618

    Re: Getting Asset UPNP to reboot automatically on Raspberry Pi

    How do you manually start asset? you need to ensure the path is correct.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Posts
    6

    Re: Getting Asset UPNP to reboot automatically on Raspberry Pi

    I can start Asset manually by double clicking the executable AssetUPnP in /home/jeff/bin/AssetUPnP/ in the file GUI.
    I can also start Asset manually by copying the line the Asset installer placed in my crontab into a shell and running.
    Minus the @reboot that is )/home/jeff/bin/AssetUPnP/AssetUPnP

    But Asset does not start on reboot.

    Clearly the path is the same in the crontab as it is in the shell. The latter works, the former does not.
    So I tried mounting /home/jeff in fstab. Didn't make any difference.

    Your example to the raspberry user had Asset installed in /usr/bin which is the only default path in a cron job hence my question about is it a path thing.
    But I cannot get Asset to install into /usr/bin.

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    42,618

    Re: Getting Asset UPNP to reboot automatically on Raspberry Pi

    Perhaps certain users do not have rights to run it, the crontab is a different user.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •