title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: "Detecting Gaps / Indexes" - what exactly is it? And can the box be moved?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    291

    "Detecting Gaps / Indexes" - what exactly is it? And can the box be moved?

    Hi again

    The Detecting Gaps / Detecting Indexes box that comes up when you first put in a CD is presumably a new-ish feature. It wasn't there in R14.4...

    Anyhow, is it possible to hide or move or do anything with this notification box? I have two screens on my PC. I use DBPA on the left hand screen, but the Detecting Gaps / Indexes box comes up on the right hand screen. On some discs it take quite a while and ends up getting in the way of the other stuff I'm doing whilst I wait for the CD to finish "loading". If it was over on the left screen it would be a lot better for my set up.

    Also, what exactly is the box doing? Just for interests sake, I just popped a CD in and pressed cancel as soon as the detection box came up, and the CD still loaded fine. What would have happened if I went ahead and done the rip? Poor/non-existent indexing and gap info I presume???

    Cheers

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,432

    Re: "Detecting Gaps / Indexes" - what exactly is it? And can the box be moved?

    Quote Originally Posted by Max Dread View Post
    Hi again

    The Detecting Gaps / Detecting Indexes box that comes up when you first put in a CD is presumably a new-ish feature. It wasn't there in R14.4...

    Anyhow, is it possible to hide or move or do anything with this notification box? I have two screens on my PC. I use DBPA on the left hand screen, but the Detecting Gaps / Indexes box comes up on the right hand screen. On some discs it take quite a while and ends up getting in the way of the other stuff I'm doing whilst I wait for the CD to finish "loading". If it was over on the left screen it would be a lot better for my set up.

    Also, what exactly is the box doing? Just for interests sake, I just popped a CD in and pressed cancel as soon as the detection box came up, and the CD still loaded fine. What would have happened if I went ahead and done the rip? Poor/non-existent indexing and gap info I presume???

    Cheers
    odd. I have 16.4 version (windows). I've never seen a popup related to indexing/gap detection.

  3. #3
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,649

    Re: "Detecting Gaps / Indexes" - what exactly is it? And can the box be moved?

    Quote Originally Posted by Max Dread View Post
    The Detecting Gaps / Detecting Indexes box that comes up when you first put in a CD is presumably a new-ish feature. It wasn't there in R14.4...
    If I recall (and I am going back a long way now), isn't that window related to EAC?

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,432

    Re: "Detecting Gaps / Indexes" - what exactly is it? And can the box be moved?

    Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    If I recall (and I am going back a long way now), isn't that window related to EAC?
    Yes, EAC has this option. Maybe Max has EAC installed too, and inserting a CD brings up the EAC option. (Max, you should at least set EAC settings to not automatically open when a CD inserted. Or even uninstall...no need for EAC if you have dbpa.)

  5. #5
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    291

    Re: "Detecting Gaps / Indexes" - what exactly is it? And can the box be moved?

    Hi

    Thanks for the replies. I don't have and never have had EAC installed so it is nothing to do with that...

    How strange! I'm pretty certain it is DBPA doing it. When I load the disc, nothing happens in the main DBPA window until the pop is done going through the tracks. As soon as it finishes, the disc details and metadata appear.

    I've got to pop out now but when I get back I'll see if I can capture it with a screenshot.

    Cheers

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    291

    Re: "Detecting Gaps / Indexes" - what exactly is it? And can the box be moved?

    OK, so here are the screenshots. I'd be mighty surprised if they were not to do with DBPA

    Perhaps someone else can say whether they have/haven't seen this before? And maybe Spoon can shed some light on the matter?

    Cheers

    DBPA - Detecting Indexes.png

    DBPA - Detecting Gaps.png

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,256

    Re: "Detecting Gaps / Indexes" - what exactly is it? And can the box be moved?

    When you detect the gaps, they can be displayed, or removed with certain DSP effects.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •