title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast
Results 76 to 90 of 106

Thread: Asset R5 beta for OSX/Linux

  1. #76
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    40,340

    Re: Asset R5 beta for OSX/Linux

    Reinstall R4.7, then R5

  2. #77
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    240

    Re: Asset R5 beta for OSX/Linux

    Hi,

    My 'New Albums' in the Playlist folder are coming up empty and blank, even though I have recently added folder/albums/tracks in my library.
    Is there a way of resetting these, other than conducting a full rescan?

    Thanks,
    Simon.

  3. #78
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    939

    Re: Asset R5 beta for OSX/Linux

    Beta 8 posted. Some big issues have been addressed, other issues are being looked into.

  4. #79
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    939

    Re: Asset R5 beta for OSX/Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by zacbrown View Post
    Browsing Asset is pretty sluggish on QNAP TVS-471 w/ Asset R5b7. Playback while browsing has been fine but if I'm moving around folders or categories a lot I get noticeable (>1 second) delays hitting back or selecting an artist/album.

    For context - QNAP TVS-471 is fairly beefy: dual-core i3 @ 3.5GHz with 4GB ram.

    Thanks for the feedback.

    I need to get a better picture of what exactly is happening on your machine:
    • Is there anything specific about your library?
    • How many tracks do you have?
    • Any specific library folders take such long time to process?
    • What app are you using to browse your Asset library?
    • Have you used Asset R4.x before on the same machine and did it run better/worse?


    It would be helpful if you could follow these steps with the latest version (R5 beta 8):
    • Enable debug logging, apply settings
    • Browse your Asset library and trigger the slow browsing bug
    • In Asset settings, open UPnP logs; mail the log to peter@dbpoweramp.com

    Thanks.
    Last edited by PeterP; 07-13-2016 at 07:18 AM.

  5. #80

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    4

    Re: Asset R5 beta for OSX/Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterP View Post
    Thanks for the feedback.

    I need to get a better picture of what exactly is happening on your machine:
    ...snip...

    It would be helpful if you could follow these steps with the latest version (R5 beta 8):
    • Enable debug logging, apply settings
    • Browse your Asset library and trigger the slow browsing bug
    • In Asset settings, open UPnP logs; mail the log to peter@dbpoweramp.com

    Thanks.
    • Is there anything specific about your library? - Not especially no. 68 albums and around 897 tracks. All 24bit or 16bit FLAC (mostly 16bit).
    • How many tracks do you have? - 897 tracks - growing steadily as I scan more of my CD collection
    • Any specific library folders take such long time to process? - None specifically that I noticed. Just a general sluggishness
    • What app are you using to browse your Asset library? - foobar2000 UPnP browser and the Naim Mu-So control app.
    • Have you used Asset R4.x before on the same machine and did it run better/worse? - I had R4.7 installed before and it was fast and snappy but I begin using the R5 beta due to bugs in album navigation I was having.


    I've emailed the debug logs.

  6. #81
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    939

    Re: Asset R5 beta for OSX/Linux

    Thanks for the detailed reply, I believe I have the problem sorted out now - check your email for an updated build.

    I've been able to recreate this bug on my own QNAP NAS now - after disabling HDD write cache option. However this was a clear bug on Asset side, rewriting its configuration files much more often than necessary.

    PS. Make sure you turn debug logging off after testing, as it writes a lot of stuff right now and log files will grow large over time.

  7. #82
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    240

    Re: Asset R5 beta for OSX/Linux

    Hi,
    I am now not getting any UpStream Artwork during a 'Rescan All' - what do need to do to repair the Configuration?

    Thanks,
    Simon.

  8. #83
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    240

    Re: Asset R5 beta for OSX/Linux

    I am now getting "Library Contains 61819 Tracks, 0 Albums" , limited Album Artwork and no 'New Albums' in the Playlists.
    What's the best way of removing the existing library details and starting again?
    Thanks,
    Simon.

  9. #84
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    40,340

    Re: Asset R5 beta for OSX/Linux

    Rescan all will refresh library as fresh (the database is dropped).

  10. #85
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    240

    Re: Asset R5 beta for OSX/Linux

    Thanks - I had tried that a few times, but it was still not scanning correctly.
    I have now, stopped AssetUPnP, removed the .dBPoweramp directory, and restarted to complete refresh all configuration files and the database. I re-entered my configuration and it is rebuilding the dB again - seems ok so far.
    Simon.

  11. #86
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    939

    Re: Asset R5 beta for OSX/Linux

    Beta 10 has been posted.

    Among other fixes, I've made it explicitly impossible to shoot yourself in the foot by reverting to an R4.x; R5 now stores configuration data in a different folder, so you can have both installed at the same time, or safely go back to R4 after having used R5.

    Note that there's no need to perform any manual configuration cleanups - first R5b10 run will salvage any useful configuration data from existing folders, or simply move the whole folder to the right location if upgrading from an older R5 beta.

  12. #87

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Waterloo
    Posts
    27

    Re: Asset R5 beta for OSX/Linux

    I have just installed R5b10 and it seems, for the moment I do not suffer any lag anymore. Great.

    In the meantime I bought a new QNAP a TS-251+ placed a small SSD. Installed everything, Asset UPNP also.
    After what I installed a 3TB disc, Both disk are single volumes.

    The search and tree browsing is quite fast now.

    Asset database is on Datavol1 and the music is on Datavol2. The other advantage is that when nothing happens the 3TB really goes to sleep.

    Just an idea for others....

  13. #88

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Waterloo
    Posts
    27

    Re: Asset R5 beta for OSX/Linux

    One issue I got, maybe it is an error in my config.

    Compilations are tagged with "1" but now compared to 4.xx it shows under albums one album/artist on the compilation albums

    Is there anything I am misssing ?

  14. #89
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    40,340

    Re: Asset R5 beta for OSX/Linux

    What is your control point? what is shown? the album artist? or artist from first track?

  15. #90

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Waterloo
    Posts
    27

    Re: Asset R5 beta for OSX/Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    What is your control point? what is shown? the album artist? or artist from first track?
    Like this :
    LINN Kazoo, QNAP with R5b10

    album artist= various
    compilation tag = 1

    I get one album/track artist

    Kazoo - compil.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Silences; 07-20-2016 at 09:28 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •