title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Are CD drives really this inaccurate? How could our software even work?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • maxhodges
    • Sep 2015

Are CD drives really this inaccurate? How could our software even work?

Hi, I'm new to dbpoweramp (just downloaded it a few minutes ago). I'm very surprised to hear that 2% of all ripped CDs have errors. How is that possible? We use CD drives to install software. If the error rate were that high, our software wouldn't run correctly. Surely computer CD and DVD drives are able to read billions of bits without a single mistake. How could CD players reliably play music? If a single bit were off it could be inaudible (if it was the least significant bit), or we'd be jolted by loud clicks if it were the most significant bit. I find it really hard to believe or understand why the ability to read a disc would be so unreliable? Surely this isn't true right?
  • Dat Ei
    dBpoweramp Guru
    • Feb 2014

Re: Are CD drives really this inaccurate? How could our software even work?

Hey maxhodges,

Originally posted by maxhodges
    How could CD players reliably play music? If a single bit were off it could be inaudible (if it was the least significant bit), or we'd be jolted by loud clicks if it were the most significant bit. I find it really hard to believe or understand why the ability to read a disc would be so unreliable? Surely this isn't true right?
    CD player have a special handling for errors of Audio CDs. In case of read errors they can interpolate values. As long as there ain't too much errors, you will not notice anything.