title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Red Hat linux 9

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Razgo
    Administrator
    • Apr 2002

Red Hat linux 9

well after having my first linux install "knoppix" completed and up and running it was time to move on and install Red Hat 9 :D

it was definatly a bit easier to install and my firewall status is alsmost stealth. just 2 ports wern't stealth but not sure why yet. but with knoppix i just couldn't get any easy way of making my internet connection secure. but red hat 9 did it easily.

well so far so good
  • RossRoy
    dBpoweramp Guru
    • May 2003

Re: Red Hat linux 9

Knoppix hasn't been designed to run off a hard drive or even as a main OS.

Red Hat gets the hats off, they did a great job at easing most of the tasks.

Comment

• MasterOfPuppets
      dBpoweramp Enthusiast
      • Nov 2002

I've been using Linux for a couple of years now. I like Linux because of its simultaneous simplicity and complexity, how it's tailored to my needs (server and programming environment). Also the dd command.

On my second computer I have installed Debian 3, RedHat 9, and Windows XP.

Debian is what I use most of the time for that computer. I don't have X on it, and I mainly use it for acting as a server when I need files from it at school. Debian appeals to me most because of how flexible it is, how you can change everything from a few simple .conf files. It runs perfectly on a (relatively) small disk space, and comes installed with very few programs, a plus because you can easily find what you need. Any additional programs you want can be easily installed with apt-get, a really amazing concept in my opinion. Cons: Hardware is a nightmare to install. That's one of the reasons why KNOPPIX is so popular now, it runs on a really good platform and unless you have digital surround sound it can easily detect all of your hardware.