title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Windows 8 and multiple cores/processors

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    17

    Windows 8 and multiple cores/processors

    I am trying to use a Registered Copy of Music Converter 14.3 with Windows 8

    It was updated from Version 14.2

    For a while windows 8 allowed me to use multiple cores/processors but now it has stopped.

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    43,799

    Re: Windows 8 and multiple cores/processors

    In what way stopped?

    If you convert to lossless, then the converter does not use multiple cores as the SSD or HDD is slower than the encoder.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    17

    Re: Windows 8 and multiple cores/processors

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    In what way stopped?

    If you convert to lossless, then the converter does not use multiple cores as the SSD or HDD is slower than the encoder.

    I am only talking about converting .wav or .flac to lame .mp3s.


    Not that it matters but I always rip CD to .flac with EAC first.

    It now makes mp3 one at a time not as 8 simultaneously as it did for a while in windows 8 and always does with windows 7.

    I think I am going to downgrade this new computer to windows 7 and add an ssd at the same time...........



    thanks so far - srenovo
    Last edited by srenovo; 12-19-2012 at 07:11 PM.

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    5,725

    Re: Windows 8 and multiple cores/processors

    none of my business, but why would you use EAC to rip CDs to FLAC when you own dbpa? Seems odd.

    edit: And when I convert FLAC files to mp3 with dbpa converter, I'm using multiple cores and can see this working properly. But I am using Win7(64).
    Last edited by garym; 12-19-2012 at 07:51 PM.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    43,799

    Re: Windows 8 and multiple cores/processors

    Check that dBpoweramp is still showing as Registered (as is required for multi cpu encoding), open 'dBpoweramp Configuration' then look at the Registration status.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    17

    Re: Windows 8 and multiple cores/processors

    Thank you for this comment - in fact I had to download and reinstall from the illustrate web site and it once again works.

    Now if I could only solve my windows 8 problems - I tried that forum and had no luck

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    17

    Re: Windows 8 and multiple cores/processors

    Quote Originally Posted by garym View Post
    none of my business, but why would you use EAC to rip CDs to FLAC when you own dbpa? Seems odd.

    edit: And when I convert FLAC files to mp3 with dbpa converter, I'm using multiple cores and can see this working properly. But I am using Win7(64).


    I use EAC for ripping original CDs as EAC is - as far as I can determine - the most accurate ripping program and one's rips can be compared to a comprehensive data base to determine the accuracy of the rip.

    Thanks for asking

  8. #8
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    5,725

    Re: Windows 8 and multiple cores/processors

    Quote Originally Posted by srenovo View Post
    I use EAC for ripping original CDs as EAC is - as far as I can determine - the most accurate ripping program and one's rips can be compared to a comprehensive data base to determine the accuracy of the rip.

    Thanks for asking
    Hmmm. That describes dbpa as well. And spoon created the accuraterip database. But both EAC and dbpa are very good secure rippers. Dbpa has better access to metadata however.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •