title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

HDCD dsp, meaning you can rip SACD at 24bits, or not?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • EZETEC
    • Nov 2012

HDCD dsp, meaning you can rip SACD at 24bits, or not?

I'm new to the ripping business.

DBPA was recommended to me by LINN when i was visiting a audio show.
    1) When I saw the HDCD dsp, I was pleasantly surprised that i could finally rip my private SACD collection. But i get indications this is not true. HDCD is not equivalent to SACD. Even when HDCD is activated I get 16bit rip from my SACD (flac lossless uncompressed) . But actually I think DBPA is using the 16bit part from a Hybrid SACD. When I insert SACD only disc, nothing happens with DBPA, it won't read the high definition audio.
    Am i doing something wrong here ? not using a proper CD/DVD drive ?

sorry if this question pops up again in this forum, but with the latest version purchased i though things maybe would have changed regarding SACD.

If i hold a cd in my hands how will i know that i will get a native 24bit rip from it. how can i recognize based on a label or else ?

2ndly) how do i see when running DBPA that it is actually a registered version?

rgrds
    Guy
  • Arnold_Layne
    • Nov 2009

Re: HDCD dsp, meaning you can rip SACD at 24bits, or not?

HDCD is not SACD. The SACD layer cannot be ripped on a computer drive. You can only rip the CD layer of an SACD.

A_L

Comment

• Tom Swaman
      dBpoweramp Enthusiast
      • Oct 2011

Oh well, here is a comment from the blind. I do rip GDCD using a Plextor drive and a Windows 7 computer without problems or apparent impairment of recorded sound quality. Unfortunately, my ears do not count bits so I do not know how many bits are the result. I have trouble learning and understanding DPBPA, but I do love the results I achieve and the apparent stability of my music files.

I hope this helps.

Regards,
      Tom