title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Convert wav to save space

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Unregistered

Convert wav to save space

I am really new at this, but you don't learn if you don't ask. How do I make my wav files smaller? I used the dBpowerAmp music converter to turn my music into wav files, but the size is still to huge to send to my friends in emails.
  • Spoon
    Administrator
    • Apr 2002

They were mp3 files before?
    Spoon
    www.dbpoweramp.com

Comment

• Unregistered

please, all I want to know is how to make a few 1000kb file into a file thats just a few 100kb

Comment

• Unregistered

Originally posted by Spoon
        They were mp3 files before?
        yes they were mp3s that i've downloaded

Comment

• Unregistered

Nevermind. Somebody told me what attributes I needed. Thanks anyways.

Comment

• Unregistered

Re: Convert wav to save space

Everyone who I've seen who converted their MP3s to these small WAV files ended up with very low quality files that did not sound good. They sounded even worse to me after converting them back so they could be burned to audio files. No one on the file sharing networks would allow them to d/l MP3s from them after they heard their WAV files. I'd say buyer beware unless you care nothing about the quality of your music.

Comment

• ChristinaS
              dBpoweramp Guru
              • Apr 2004

Originally posted by Unregistered
              Nevermind. Somebody told me what attributes I needed. Thanks anyways.
              An mp3 file is already compressed a lot compared to the original wav file.
              Typical mp3 files are at 128 kbps, 44.1 Khz stere and they occupy about 1MB for each minute of audio, so on the average they may be about 3-4 MB, whereas the original wav file would have been 30-40MB.