title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 2 of 25 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 366

Thread: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

  1. #16
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,885

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    Once the beta is out, if you can write simple scripts then you could implement it yourself...

  2. #17
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,176

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    How about COMPOSER Optical Autoloaders?

  3. #18
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,885

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    Never heard of them

  4. #19
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,175

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    Quote Originally Posted by EliC
    How about COMPOSER Optical Autoloaders?
    Eli - one thing to remember: if the Primera autoloader doesn't have a drive installed and instead has a blank faceplate, it's a Primera Conductor, not a Composer. The Conductor is a printer autoloader and will not drop discs into a drive even if you install one.*

    The firmware chip is the same as the composer firmware, but primera programed the unit to one of several profiles at the factory, and I still haven't worked out how to change that. It might involve one or more of the following:

    1. Using the front panel keys in an unpublished pattern.
    2. Invocations via the standard serial port.
    3. Invocations via the secondary serial port (you may need to add a 4-pin header on some boards).
    4. Using an in-circuit programmer on the 4-pin chip near the left side of the board to modify parameters.

    Or, just stick to buying a Composer/Composer Pro unit.

    -brendan

    * A similar issue arises if you wish to install a second drive into a Composer - unless it is a Composer Pro, the robot arm won't go to the second drive, even if the firmware is the same.

  5. #20
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,176

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    My dream feature setup
    -plextor drive(s)
    -room for multiple drives
    -100+ spindle capacity
    -ability to sort discs after rip into accurate rips and inaccurate rips (one source spindle and 2 destination spindles)
    -USB or Firewire with full command passthrough/control including FUA and C2

  6. #21
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,176

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    Other features I would like:
    -ability to automatically re-rip discs without accuraterip entries or different pressings in a second drive (would need to install different drive models in robot)
    -small camera on robot arm to photograph the disc being ripped

  7. #22
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,175

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    Quote Originally Posted by EliC
    -small camera on robot arm to photograph the disc being ripped
    Heh. Weibetech already repackaged the Baxter 25-disc device with a webcam,

    http://www.wiebetech.com/products/Imager.php

    ...and then increased the price to $2400 (a $1600 forensics premium, well I guess you get some custom software too).

    You could do the same, with some elbow grease, if spoon added the ability to run post-"Accept" (or pre-"Insert" depending on ease of camera placement) batch files.

    -brendan

  8. #23
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,176

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    Brendan,
    Are parts available to consider building a ripper yourself? The cost of these "robots" seems outrageous. It doesnt have to look pretty, but I would imagine that it can be done.

  9. #24
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,175

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    Quote Originally Posted by EliC
    Are parts available to consider building a ripper yourself? The cost of these "robots" seems outrageous. It doesnt have to look pretty, but I would imagine that it can be done.
    Short answer: no, not unless you are a masochist.

    IMHO, the best do-it-yourself approach would be to get the Sony XL1B (aka XL1B2 aka XL1B3) changer, which can be had for ~$200 from time to time. It's big, but you can pre-load 200 CDs. Then:

    a) Lobby Spoon to support it the changer.
    b) Use the MediumChanger GUI software, links can be found in the AVS Forum website.
    and/or
    c) Write your own batch files using the windows version of MTX (which now supports the XL1B series) and a command line ripper (perhaps db power amp, if all the features you need are supported at the command line).

    -brendan

  10. #25
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,176

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    One of my criteria is to be able to use a plextor drive

  11. #26
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,885

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    If you have a Sony XL1Bx email me please:

    http://www.dbpoweramp.com/email.htm

  12. #27
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,175

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    Quote Originally Posted by EliC
    One of my criteria is to be able to use a plextor drive
    So Eli, how's the hardware acquisition and rebuild going?

    FYI, I've started up a wiki to document robotic command sets here

    http://hyperdiscs.pbwiki.com/

    Maybe you can help to fill this one in soon?

    http://hyperdiscs.pbwiki.com/Command+Sets+--+Primera



    -brendan

  13. #28
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,176

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    The package containing the guts of the robot (arm, control board...) was lost by fedex....

  14. #29
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,175

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    Quote Originally Posted by EliC
    The package containing the guts of the robot (arm, control board...) was lost by fedex....
    That would make me totally flip out.

    -brendan

  15. #30
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,176

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    I am working to aquire a new one since the original ComposerMax was lost by fedex. No worries as it was there fault, the shippent was insured, and my purchase price has been refunded.

    I do plan to get a Primera Composer Max. Is there anyone that has used this with the current batch ripper? Are there any issues before implementation for this device will be complete?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •