title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: dMCScripting and DSP effects

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    36

    dMCScripting and DSP effects

    Hello,
    I am wondering how I can use DSP effects in a C*/.NET program. Should I add some options to the CompressionCLI string needed by the Convert function or is there another way to do the trick ?

    Touff-Ray

  2. #2

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    36

    Re: dMCScripting and DSP effects

    I seem to remember seeing this in another thread a while back- and I think it isn't possible, which is a real shame. The good thing about r11 was that when you started a scripted conversion, the dialogue gave you the option to add DSP effects at that point manually... is there a way round this, spoon?

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    36

    Re: dMCScripting and DSP effects

    Having said that, the scripting page of the support section says:

    "DSP effects can also be activated, pass them in CompressionCLI, see command line documentation."

    Where is this info? I can't seem to find it in any of the docs...

  4. #4

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    36

    Re: dMCScripting and DSP effects

    Well, I tried my best:

    Code:
    Set dMC = CreateObject("dMCScripting.Converter")
    Dim CompressionCLI
    CompressionCLI = "-b 64 -channels=""joint stereo"" -dspeffect1=""Grabber=-lengthms={qt}60000{qt} -position={qt}30000{qt}"""
    CompressionCLI = dMC.ShowSettings("mp3 (Lame)", CompressionCLI)
    Set WshShell = CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
    
    Call dMC.Convert("C:\Source\sourcefile.flac", "C:\Destination\testdsp.mp3", "mp3 (Lame)", CompressionCLI, "C:\encodingerrors.txt")
    Call WshShell.Popup("Done.")
    ...doesn't work. It encodes, but no dsp inclusion.

    Ever get the feeling everyone else has been destroyed by a tidal wave and you're the only one left chatting to yourself about scripting dmc in spoon's forum? No? Hello? Anybody? :cry:

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    43,855

    Re: dMCScripting and DSP effects

    Your code is almost right, just that by calling dMC.ShowSettings after adding the DSP commandline is removing the DSP commandline.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    36

    Re: dMCScripting and DSP effects

    Wicked! That works a treat now:

    Code:
    Set dMC = CreateObject("dMCScripting.Converter")
    Dim CompressionCLI
    CompressionCLI = "-b 64 -channels=""joint stereo"" -dspeffect1=""Grabber=-lengthms={qt}60000{qt} -position={qt}30000{qt}"""
    Set WshShell = CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
    
    Call dMC.Convert("C:\Source\sourcefile.flac", "C:\Destination\testdsp.mp3", "mp3 (Lame)", CompressionCLI, "C:\encodingerrors.txt")
    Call WshShell.Popup("Done.")
    Cheers Spoon!

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    36

    Re: dMCScripting and DSP effects

    Thank you KJim and Spoon ! I am going to try this :komisch12

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    36

    Re: dMCScripting and DSP effects

    It works like a charm
    But now I have two other questions (and I don't want to open a new thread):
    - Is there a way to control how dbpoweramp uses multi-core processors ?
    - Can we retrieve the status of a conversion (e.g. "50% done", or "Finished") ? And if so, how ?

    Touff-Ray

  9. #9
    dBpoweramp Guru LtData's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,288

    Re: dMCScripting and DSP effects

    What do you mean how dMc uses a multi-core processor? Currently, dMC encodes one file per core. I believe the only way to change this is to totally disable multi-core support and only use one core. This can be done only through the Multi-Encoder or the r2 version of the CLI encoder.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    43,855

    Re: dMCScripting and DSP effects

    Through scripting it will take any free cpu time, if you have 2 processors then have 2 scripting objects.

    No way of getting the % compelete through scripting.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    36

    Re: dMCScripting and DSP effects

    Thank you both for your answers

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    36

    Re: dMCScripting and DSP effects

    Hi again everyone,
    I have other (noob) questions about dMCScripting :
    - Is there a way to know that a conversion is finished ?
    - Is there another way than checking the log created by the Convert method to retrieve potential errors during conversions ?

    Touff-Ray

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    43,855

    Re: dMCScripting and DSP effects

    When the conversion finishes your call to .convert returns.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •