title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

.asf to .wav conversion; poor results

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Saratoga Sam
    • Aug 2003

.asf to .wav conversion; poor results

Hi -

I have a 3Kb .asf file that I would like to convert to .wav. The file is a mono recording of Curly of the Three Stooges doing his signature "woo-woo-woo" sound.

I'm using your Music Converter and comparing the results to the original .asf file using the latest version of Windows Media Player; version 9.

I cannot get the resultant .wav file to sound like the original .asf file! The closest result I get is when I choose an MP3 format at 39Kb/sec. The resultant file is 29Kb in size, however the sound is truncated at the end. Other attempts resulted in a file that sounds like it's played considerably "faster" with less fidelity.

I'm new to the world of audio conversions so I'm probably doing something basically wrong.

Any ideas?

~Saratoga Sam
  • Joseph
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    • Oct 2002

What is transcoding and why is it bad?
    Last edited by Joseph; August 27, 2003, 06:39 AM.

Comment

• Saratoga Sam
      • Aug 2003

ok -

If transcoding is the problem I am encountering, then how can I convert a .asf file to a .wav file without loss?

Thanks

Comment

• RossRoy
        dBpoweramp Guru
        • May 2003

In theory, converting to WAV from a compressed format like MP3 or WMA shouldn't show any loss of quality. WAV being a lossless uncompressed format (usually that is) there shouldn't be any quality loss.

What happens is you probably have the WAV output module configured to embed a compressed format into a WAV. When you go to CONVERT TO, choose the WAV format, and make sure the radio button on top is NOT next to the compressed format, and for the three drop list, place them all at the option that have the (CD) mention at the end.

Let me know how it turns out.

Comment

• Saratoga Sam