title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Poor Performance using Batch Converter (dBPoweramp 14.3)

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • doug.brown
    • Mar 2013

Poor Performance using Batch Converter (dBPoweramp 14.3)

I've been using batch converter for several years to convert large numbers (~20,000) of FLAC files to Nero AAC. With my older Nehalem (first generation Core i7) based machine with 8 GB RAM and WD Cavier Black HDDs, I would get encoding speeds in the range of 160X. Last summer, I moved to a new Ivy Bridge (thrid generation Core i7) machine with 32GB RAM and fast WD Velociraptor HDDs. Encode speed increase to around 280X. During encoding, Task Manager revealed the machine to be CPU bound, as expected with 8 instances of neroaccenc.exe consuming almost all CPU resources. Lately, however, using exactly the same settings I am only getting encode speeds in the 60X range. Task Manager shows the machine to be HDD bound, with CPU only running ~20-25%. I have 8 HDDs in the PC so I tried using different combinations of HDD for the source and destination files and it made no significant difference. Any ideas of what else to check?
  • doug.brown
    • Mar 2013

Re: Poor Performance using Batch Converter (dBPoweramp 14.3)

BTW, I am using Windows 8, 64 bit and have been since building the new machine.

Comment

• Spoon
      Administrator
      • Apr 2002

as a test try a low bit rate (should have less hdd usage), what is the encode speed?
      Spoon
      www.dbpoweramp.com

Comment

• doug.brown
        • Mar 2013