title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Which of these drives should I use? & other burning questions...

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • trtlrock
    • Jul 2007

Which of these drives should I use? & other burning questions...

Hi. Forgive me if these are dumb questions, but I'm completely new at this. FYI I have downloaded the trial reference version of dB CD Ripper.

I have a Dell Intel Core 2 computer, 6600@2.40 GHz, 2046 MB RAM, 32-bit OS Vista:

It has 2 drives (tech info below retrieved from dMC):

Manufacturer: TSSTcorp
    CD Drive: DVD-ROM TS-H352C
    Firmware: DE02
    Serial:
    Maximum Speed: 8467 KB/sec (x47)
    Current Speed: 8467 KB/sec (x47)
    Spin-down After: 4 minutes
    Buffer Size: 256 KB
    Accurate Stream: Yes
    C2 Error Pointers: Yes
    Reads ISRC: Yes
    Reads UPC: Yes

...AND...

this one:

Manufacturer: PHILIPS
    CD Drive: DVD+-RW DVD8801
    Firmware: AD21
    Serial:
    Maximum Speed: 8467 KB/sec (x47)
    Current Speed: 8467 KB/sec (x47)
    Spin-down After: 4 minutes
    Buffer Size: 2 MB
    Accurate Stream: Yes
    C2 Error Pointers: No
    Reads ISRC: Yes
    Reads UPC: Yes

My questions are:

1) Despite my Core 2 design, ripping in 2 concurrently running copies of dBCDR seems to buy me nothing at all. The combined time greatly exceeds what it would be if I simply ripped the 2 CDs one at a time, using only one of the 2 drives. ** Does this seem correct? ** If so, which drive would be a better ripping choice, given the info listed above?

2) It seems as if dBCDR freezes up A LOT. The most recent attempt to rip simultaneously as described in #1 above produced two successful rips, but each copy of dBCDR then froze & the program had to be CTL-ALT-DEL'd. ** Is this a Vista thing, or a known dBCDR+Vista thing?

3) I followed the configuration of dBCDR very carefully as described on the web site, but a few things seem odd or wrong...