title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Am I ready to start?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • gd0
    • Jun 2015

Am I ready to start?

Hi.

Newbie alert: I’m completely new to this. I’ve never even ripped or maintained a library in iTunes. I’m here for confirmed better quality.

2013 iMac (loaded), Yosemite OS X 10.10.3, DSL connection, OWC optical drive. Installed the trial dBpoweramp v.15.

I read and implemented the CD Ripper setup guide, used recommended settings, ripped a few dozen CDs with varying characteristics, and re-read the setup guide. I’m nearly ready to buy. But I’d like to confirm a few details, with your kind assistance.

I will be happy to re-rip these few if I’ve missed something. I’ve got some 2500 CDs; I’m only going to do this once.

1. A setting detail I missed the first time was “Write Album Gain” and “EBU R128 Calculated Gain.” Now selected. Are those playback-oriented settings critical enough to justify re-ripping?

2. Testing for the C2 pointer thing (which I still don’t understand) caused dBp to freeze and forced a hard shut down. I can only presume I don’t have that, and have bypassed it in settings. Seems it’s for the few (professionals?), and could use a clearer explanation. Not a question, just sayin’.

3. Is it fair to say that I don’t need to scrutinize the information pop-up after a rip is complete? (Unless there’s an error, which is made VERY obvious with a separate pop-up, right? Error did occur a couple times, simply re-ripped.)

4. Related to 3, are the occasional Normalization Warnings something I should be concerned about?

5. I have some homemade compilation and/or “needledrop” CD-Rs that obviously don’t show up on AccurateRip. I fill in the metadata manually. Is the phrase “Secure” in the Ripper window sufficient confirmation of a successful rip?