title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

"Errors Whilst Converting" + ???

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • watwazat
    • Jan 2005

"Errors Whilst Converting" + ???

I have searched the forum but cannot find an answer specific to my problem.

No matter what WAV or MP3 file I try to convert I receive the following error message...

The output file 'D:\Track01.wav' could not be opened.

Any assistance would be appreciated.

In addition. I am brand new to converting and ripping files. I have three basic questions.

When you rip a file from a CD does it copy or remove that file from the CD?

Can you rip and convert simultaneously?

Lastly, when you convert say a WAV file to MP3, can you first copy your WAV file to maintain it's original format and then convert the copied WAV file?
    In other words, can the same file exist in both WAV and MP3 from the same original file, or once you convert to an MP3, if you want that same file as a WAV you have to convert it back again?

Cheers! :confused:
  • LtData
    dBpoweramp Guru
    • May 2004

Re: "Errors Whilst Converting" + ???

Originally posted by watwazat
    I have searched the forum but cannot find an answer specific to my problem.

No matter what WAV or MP3 file I try to convert I receive the following error message...

The output file 'D:\Track01.wav' could not be opened.

Any assistance would be appreciated.
    I assume this is you trying to rip a CD. Where are you trying to convert the file to? It sounds as if you are trying to convert the file and save it to the CD, which you can't do. Change the location of where the converted files are saved.

When you rip a file from a CD does it copy or remove that file from the CD?
    It copies the file from the CD and converts it to whatever format you want.

Can you rip and convert simultaneously?