title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Can't Configure AccurateRip - New HP Envy PC - Windows 10

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    9

    Question Can't Configure AccurateRip - New HP Envy PC - Windows 10

    I have been a dBpoweramp user for several years using a Dell laptop. The Dell recently dies and we bought an HP Envy PC with an optical drive. The PC optical drive's name is hp-DVDRW GUE1N. The drive appears to be in the dBpoweramp database.

    We have over 400 CDs and I have tried every one of them to configure the CD ripper. Every disk I insert says that the disk can be used to do the configuration but when I click on the configure button, I get the same error message; "The key disk can not be used for offset detection . . . ."

    Is there some way to set the offset? How can I get a disk that will work?

    The HP PC is the only I have to use dBpoweramp.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,708

    Re: Can't Configure AccurateRip - New HP Envy PC - Windows 10

    This is to do with your other thread about reading from the drive, answered there.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    9

    Re: Can't Configure AccurateRip - New HP Envy PC - Windows 10

    I bought a Bruce Springsteen CD today ("Letter For You") and the system accepted it for configuration. So now I have 442 CDs that won't work for configuration and one that will (about 1 out of 3 tries).

    Now the problem is that every time I launch dBpoweramp CD ripper it wants a key disk. If I try to use any CD other than the Springsteen, it fails. And the Springsteen only works about 1/3 of the time. When it fails, I eject it and start over and eventually it configures.

    What can I do to make the configuration permanent?

    Also - relative to the other thread about not being able to read CDs - After the Springsteen CD is accepted for configuration, dBpoweramp is able to read CDs for ripping.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,708

    Re: Can't Configure AccurateRip - New HP Envy PC - Windows 10

    It sounds like there is a hardware issue, if the same CD can be read, then cannot be read. Try a different cd ripping program such as 'EAC':

    https://www.exactaudiocopy.de/

    If this is the same, then look at your physical computer.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    9

    Re: Can't Configure AccurateRip - New HP Envy PC - Windows 10

    Spoon, I have tried using Windows Median Player to rip CDs with our new HP Envy PC. Windows Media Player works reliably but is not nearly as easy to use nor does it do a very good job with the Metadata. So I am not sure it is a drive problem.

    When I can get the configuration to succeed with the Bruce Springsteen CD, what can I do to get dBpoweramp to remember the offset. It appears that every time I launch dBpoweramp it wants to re-do the configuration.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,708

    Re: Can't Configure AccurateRip - New HP Envy PC - Windows 10

    What message is shown after the accuraterip processes that CD?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •