title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Test Conversion results in Metadata error

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    9

    Question Test Conversion results in Metadata error

    I just did a test conversion on my music library. All files are flac files, more than 20.000. About 4.000 of them result in an error message:
    Encountered 'FLAC__STREAM_DECODER_SEARCH_FOR_METADATA' in FLAC File [...]

    My workflow: Rip CD with DBPoweram, manual Metadata edits using YATE.

    Something I should care about? What can I do to prevent this?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    42,850

    Re: Test Conversion results in Metadata error

    Did those files decode correctly? the error is that these files have no metadata block, which should not be possible in FLAC.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    9

    Re: Test Conversion results in Metadata error

    yes, no problems playing them through various devices (mainly using Roon and a Naim streamer as an endpoint).

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    5,498

    Re: Test Conversion results in Metadata error

    do the files reporting this error happen to be the ones you edited with YATE?

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    9

    Re: Test Conversion results in Metadata error

    Quote Originally Posted by garym View Post
    do the files reporting this error happen to be the ones you edited with YATE?
    yes, since I edit all files with YATE

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    5,498

    Re: Test Conversion results in Metadata error

    Quote Originally Posted by sailorck View Post
    yes, since I edit all files with YATE
    My thinking was more along the lines of, perhaps there are many files that didn't require YATE post rip editing. Are those the files that don't report the error? Trying to figure out whether there is something about YATE that is related to this issue.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    9

    Re: Test Conversion results in Metadata error

    I really edited all files which is my basic workflow, since I at least add disc numbers and genres. I can't tell the root cause of the problem. However: I would not be able to rip all 1000 CDs again...

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    42,850

    Re: Test Conversion results in Metadata error

    Upload one of these files which gives the error to dropbox please and personal message me the link.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    42,850

    Re: Test Conversion results in Metadata error

    The files decode correctly, so I would recommend converting all your flac files >> flac, in 'output to' choose the option

    Existing source folders

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    9

    Re: Test Conversion results in Metadata error

    Thanks, will try it with a small sample and then try to convert the whole library.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    9

    Re: Test Conversion results in Metadata error

    Converting flac >> flac results in the information / error message as reported. When I do a Test conversion afterwards, everything is okay. Another flac >> flac conversion yield no error message. Only downside: the last modified date changes which affects roon. But this is tolerable. Thanks for your help.

    Any hints about the root cause of all this fuzz?

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    42,850

    Re: Test Conversion results in Metadata error

    The files look at first glance to be not as expected, there is a dap effect Perserve source attributes, which can preserve the dates.

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    42,850

    Re: Test Conversion results in Metadata error

    Confirmed, I used Foobar2000 also to look at that file and it states 'Corrupted FLAC stream', seems YATE is corrupting the files.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    9

    Re: Test Conversion results in Metadata error

    Can I assume that after a flac > flac conversion everything is back to normal or should I rip about 400 CDs again?

    Any flac tag editor recommendation for MacOS?
    Last edited by sailorck; 03-17-2021 at 01:33 PM. Reason: added question

  15. #15
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    5,498

    Re: Test Conversion results in Metadata error

    Quote Originally Posted by sailorck View Post
    Can I assume that after a flac > flac conversion everything is back to normal or should I rip about 400 CDs again?
    should be fine with just the conversion. But afterwards run them through TEST CONVERSION with dbpa converter. You can also run them through AccurateRip check with PerfectTunes.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •