title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

Thread: CD Ripper R17 does not rip a whole single file image

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    18

    CD Ripper R17 does not rip a whole single file image

    Hi,

    I just upgraded to Reference R17 and have a problem ripping a single file image.

    The disc is 73:53 minutes, but I'll get a .wav file of 45:31 minutes. In the cue sheet and the logfile all tracks seems to be appearing correctly, but the .wav file seems to be not completely correct ripped.

    I've also tried to use EAC and there I'll get the correct length of 73:53 minutes. This happens since the upgrade to Reference R17, with R16 everything was ok.

    Also there seems to be a bug in the tagging stuff. In the single file everytime the performer from the last track on the disc will be used as performer of the album and it will also be used in the cue sheet as performer of the album.
    So I normally should have a "Various Artist" as performer of the album in the cue sheet, but have always the performer of the last track.

    If I rip all tracks separately everything works fine.

    I've tried to attach the cue sheet and logfile to this post, but I received an error for an invalid file. So please let me know if there is an other way to provide you this files.

    Thanks and Regards

    Tri

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    40,622

    Re: CD Ripper R17 does not rip a whole single file image

    Check you have no dsp effects running.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    18

    Re: CD Ripper R17 does not rip a whole single file image

    No dsp ecffects running.

    I'm using [CUE Single File Image] for Rip to and Wave for Encode to.

    Just tried some more rips with the same disc. I'll get a difference size of the destination file depending which meta data is used. I'll get a larger file if I use Music Brainz and a smaller file if I use freedb. But all files are not in the correct size they should be.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    40,622

    Re: CD Ripper R17 does not rip a whole single file image

    What size difference?

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    18

    Re: CD Ripper R17 does not rip a whole single file image

    I've tried it five times:

    470,17 MB (freedb)
    556,36 MB (not sure, but it should be Music Brainz)
    476,87 MB freedb)
    476,90 MB freedb)
    578,14 MB (Music Brainz)

    I'll get the correct size of the disc (789 MB) if I rip the disc as single trackt wave. This is equal to my single image that I've ripped with EAC.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    40,622

    Re: CD Ripper R17 does not rip a whole single file image

    Something else is happening here, where do you rip to? local or network?

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    18

    Re: CD Ripper R17 does not rip a whole single file image

    Local.

    Just tried it again with this disc on my second PC with Reference 16.6 and the same settings. Here I'll get 789 MB and the single image file is fully playable in Foobar. The shorter files seems to working correctly for about 50 minutes and the rest of the file is missing at the end.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    40,622

    Re: CD Ripper R17 does not rip a whole single file image

    Try R17 on your 2nd PC please.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    18

    Re: CD Ripper R17 does not rip a whole single file image

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    Try R17 on your 2nd PC please.
    Very Strange.

    On my 2nd PC with R17 the image was ripped correctly. The PC runs with Windows 7 Ultimate on an Intel processor.

    Deinstalled then R17 on my 1st PC again and re-installed R17, but still the too short image file.

    Deinstalled then R17 on the 1st PC again and re-installed R16.6 - the image was ripped in the correct size.

    The 1st PC is my new machine and runs on Windows 10 Pro with an AMD Ryzen processor.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    18

    Re: CD Ripper R17 does not rip a whole single file image

    Checked now some more discs.

    The problem consists to each CD that I'll ripp as a CUE Single File Image on R17.

    Maybe someone has the chance to rip a CD on his machine on R17 and checks the file size and the lenght of the image after the rip to ensure that this is a general problem and not only happens on my PC?

  11. #11
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,726

    Re: CD Ripper R17 does not rip a whole single file image

    Quote Originally Posted by Trimonium View Post
    Maybe someone has the chance to rip a CD on his machine on R17 and checks the file size and the lenght of the image after the rip to ensure that this is a general problem and not only happens on my PC?
    Haven't you already done this, on your 2nd PC?

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    18

    Re: CD Ripper R17 does not rip a whole single file image

    Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    Haven't you already done this, on your 2nd PC?
    Yes, I've already done this. R17 is working fine on my 2nd PC which runs still with Windows 7, but it's not working correctly on my 1st PC which is running on Windows 10 Pro.

    But R16.6 is working also fine on the 1st PC on Windows 10 Pro. So it might be a problem with R17 on Windows 10, but it would be great if someone else can do a test on his PC on Windows 10, to ensure that this is a general problem and not only on my 1st PC.

  13. #13
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,726

    Re: CD Ripper R17 does not rip a whole single file image

    Start your Windows 10 PC in safe mode and try the rip again, in R17.x.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    18

    Re: CD Ripper R17 does not rip a whole single file image

    Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    Start your Windows 10 PC in safe mode and try the rip again, in R17.x.
    Done. Get an image file of 402 MB with R17 against an image file of 789 MB with R16.6

  15. #15
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,726

    Re: CD Ripper R17 does not rip a whole single file image

    My next troubleshooting steps would be:

    1. Backup my Windows 10 PC

    2. Clean re-install of R17.x

    If R17.x still does not work:

    3. Run the System File Checker tool

    4. Run Deployment Image Servicing and Management (DISM) health check

    NOTE: run 3 and 4 at your own risk, i.e. understand how these tools work and how they impact a Windows 10 system. Just sayin'

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •