title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Best sound quality

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Mfaoro
    • Feb 2017

Best sound quality

DBpoweramp newbie here but did search a little before posting this.

I am converting 24/96 WAV to FLAC on Mac.

I conducted a listening test between the same file converted in DBpoweramp and XLD. The only setting changed on both programs was setting FLAC compression to none.

Myself and a friend (on his system) both preferred the sound of the XLD file. The XLD file was more lifelike - real.

Are there any settings that I should make in DBpoweramp to maximize sound quality?

Thanks,
    Michael
  • Spoon
    Administrator
    • Apr 2002

Re: Best sound quality

All flac modes are lossless, that means the flac file decodes to exactly the same each time regardless of which program compressed it.
    Spoon
    www.dbpoweramp.com

Comment

• garym
      dBpoweramp Guru
      • Nov 2007

Perhaps you are adding replaygain tags in one conversion but not the other. Tiny differences in volume can make audio quality perceptions differ.

Comment

• Mfaoro
        • Feb 2017

Originally posted by garym
        Perhaps you are adding replaygain tags in one conversion but not the other. Tiny differences in volume can make audio quality perceptions differ.
        Good theory. Ill have to check this.

Comment

• ServerBaboon
          dBpoweramp Enthusiast
          • Sep 2009

Originally posted by Mfaoro
          DBpoweramp newbie here but did search a little before posting this.

I conducted a listening test between the same file converted in DBpoweramp and XLD. The only setting changed on both programs was setting FLAC compression to none.

Myself and a friend (on his system) both preferred the sound of the XLD file. The XLD file was more lifelike - real.

Are there any settings that I should make in DBpoweramp to maximize sound quality?

Thanks,