title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: When to use Meta download

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    33

    When to use Meta download

    If I am ripping a commercial CD to FLAC should I beforehand use the Meta download facility?

    Ian

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,290

    Re: When to use Meta download

    Hey Ian,

    Quote Originally Posted by Beemer View Post
    If I am ripping a commercial CD to FLAC should I beforehand use the Meta download facility?
    usually CD Ripper tries to load the metadata over the internet in that moment, when you insert a CD. If you want to build up a music library, it is highly recommended to provide your music files with metadata.


    Dat Ei

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    33

    Re: When to use Meta download

    Thanks. From your reply I realise that I do not need to use the Meta button but what then is it there for?

    Ian

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,290

    Re: When to use Meta download

    Hey Ian,

    i.e. if you have edited the metadata by hand, but in the end you want the ones from the database back. In that case you need not to open and close the drive, but you can restore the metadata with that button.


    Dat Ei

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    33

    Re: When to use Meta download

    Dat Ei,

    Now why did i not think of that!!!

    thanks,

    Ian

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    355

    Re: When to use Meta download

    Yes, and when you click on it by mistake after editing the metadata to your taste, you will be mighty annoyed at yourself, there is no "undo" function for that...

  7. #7
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    754

    Re: When to use Meta download

    Quote Originally Posted by schmidj View Post
    Yes, and when you click on it by mistake after editing the metadata to your taste, you will be mighty annoyed at yourself, there is no "undo" function for that...
    Haha....we've all been there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •