title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Force "test and copy" and skip AccurateRip

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    13

    Question Force "test and copy" and skip AccurateRip

    I detest AccurateRip. Is there any way I can fall back to (by default) to test and copy and look just for matching CRCs? If so, how?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,535

    Re: Force "test and copy" and skip AccurateRip

    You can disable AccurateRip if it so detests you (CD Ripper >> Options >> check box next to AccurateRip).

    You are aware that AccurateRip is the only method of detecting errors 100%, rereading and c2 pointers cannot.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    13

    Re: Force "test and copy" and skip AccurateRip

    Sounds good.

    If the cache is invalidated, why don't test and copy CRCs work?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    13

    Re: Force "test and copy" and skip AccurateRip

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    You are aware that AccurateRip is the only method of detecting errors 100%, rereading and c2 pointers cannot.
    I don't agree with this. Any read errors would create differing CRC values. No scratch would give the same thing twice. (As long as the cache is disabled.)

  5. #5
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    190

    Re: Force "test and copy" and skip AccurateRip

    If you detest AccurateRip so much, why do you not use one of the many free CD rippers? I'd suggest EAC, but even that one has AccurateRip. Maybe you'd be happier with CDex?

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,535

    Re: Force "test and copy" and skip AccurateRip

    >why don't test and copy CRCs work?

    Because there are errors known as consistent errors, where the error repeats identical for each read. If you are believing a matching re-read CRC = a secure rip then you are in for a shock. If you do not believe me, go and ask this very question on somewhere like Hydrogen Audio (which is independent).

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    13

    Re: Force "test and copy" and skip AccurateRip

    Quote Originally Posted by eaglescout1998 View Post
    If you detest AccurateRip so much, why do you not use one of the many free CD rippers? I'd suggest EAC, but even that one has AccurateRip. Maybe you'd be happier with CDex?
    AccurateRip is OK. Try not to crucify me too much.

    I would use free rippers if they handled offsets correctly. It is coming...

    EAC is too fussy to set up, but I have used it a lot in the past.

    I like dBpoweramp. Just not version 14. 14 is fine, but it does require work to configure, which I don't have to do with 13.5. 14 is not a major enough improvement IMO.
    Last edited by chinkapin; 09-21-2010 at 01:39 PM.

  8. #8
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    793

    Re: Force "test and copy" and skip AccurateRip

    Quote Originally Posted by chinkapin View Post
    No scratch would give the same thing twice.
    So if you get the same thing as someone else has gotten ...?

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    13

    Re: Force "test and copy" and skip AccurateRip

    Quote Originally Posted by Porcus View Post
    So if you get the same thing as someone else has gotten ...?
    ... Then play the lottery. You have a greater chance of winning it.

  10. #10
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,176

    Re: Force "test and copy" and skip AccurateRip

    chinkapin, I don't think you get it. Of course no one is going to force you to use AR, but you can basically think of AccurateRip as Test&Copy on steroids. Instead of just verifying against your one disc in your one drive you can verify against other discs in other drives. As spoon noted, this is the ONLY way to avoid consistent errors.

    I don't know what additional set up R14 requires above R13.5.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    13

    Re: Force "test and copy" and skip AccurateRip

    -----
    Last edited by chinkapin; 09-21-2010 at 07:49 PM.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    24

    Re: Force "test and copy" and skip AccurateRip

    For what it's worth, I've seen tracks verified as inaccurate but which gave out the same CRC from both my CD drives. So I can testify in court that matching CRC's are no proof of an accurate rip.

    On the other hand, for the same track ripped from 2 different CD's to have matching CRC's and yet be inaccurate is indeed nearly impossible. But that's completely different (without AR, you'd need to check that CRC's match for 2 copies of the same CD).
    Last edited by mrgou; 09-23-2010 at 03:06 PM.

  13. #13
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    793

    Re: Force "test and copy" and skip AccurateRip

    Quote Originally Posted by chinkapin View Post
    ... Then play the lottery. You have a greater chance of winning it.
    Precisely! Just like EliC tries to explain to you, this is where AccurateRip improves over a test + copy procedure. Rather than reading 2x or 3x or 199x with the same hardware and same physical CD, you let someone else do the first one, two or 198 rips. If matching, then either
    (1) the rips are the same, except that some samples for technical reasons are not part of the comparison,
    or
    (2) you have won the lottery.


    If not matching, then dBpoweramp will fallback to the test + copy procedure.

  14. #14
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    793

    Re: Force "test and copy" and skip AccurateRip

    Quote Originally Posted by mrgou View Post
    For what it's worth, I've seen tracks verified as inaccurate but which gave out the same CRC from both my CD drives.
    Most probably different pressings of the same album (one in AccurateRip, "yours" not).

    Explanation:
    Different write offsets will yield two masters with bitstreams which are the same except shifted a little to the right or left (and a few bits at the beginning or end of the CD chopped off).

    Only with the recent updates (R14 of dBpoweramp) will they be verified as the same.

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    24

    Re: Force "test and copy" and skip AccurateRip

    Quote Originally Posted by Porcus View Post
    Most probably different pressings of the same album (one in AccurateRip, "yours" not).
    Other tracks were accurate (I'm not sure all, but still). That was exceptional, but still, it did happen. On second thought, though, I'm no longer 100% sure both rips were made from a different drive, but I do remember seeing a second, inaccurate rip of a track with matching CRC (though, as I just said, I could have been on the same drive).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •