title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 15 of 100

Thread: dbpoweramp converter ?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast Java's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    175

    Question dbpoweramp converter ?

    And thanks in advance.

    I am a newbie at this, I was finally to convert some midi files thru the converter and able at least to burn a cd of one song at this point.

    I then converted 2 other songs and when I tried to convert a 3rd one I got a box with the question do you want to overwrite these files, showing the 2 that I had converted.

    I am sure that I don't know just how to do it all yet, but, on the dbpoweramp converter/aux input, do you put track one track two etc on that page? If not then how do you convert more than 2 files.

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru LtData's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,332

    Re: dbpoweramp converter ?

    Are you talking about ripping a CD or converting stand-alone files?

  3. #3
    dBpoweramp Guru ChristinaS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,097

    Re: dbpoweramp converter ?

    This is about using dMC Auxiliary Input, used to capture the audio from a midi file.

    It's easiest to do one file at a time. You fix the file name before you record or you let it record to a generic file name and then rename the output file to whatever you want. This isn't a conversion as such, it's just a recording, so the original file name is unknown to dMC during this process anyway.

    If you want you can define the file name beforehand by using the Artist, genre, etc. fields appearing at the top of dMC Auxiliary Input and the setting the file naming convention in the Options window.

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru xoas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    2,671

    Re: dbpoweramp converter ?

    If you are using Auxilary Input (your only alternative if you are using dBpowerAMP Music Converter to convert midi files), you can theoretically convert up to 20 tracks at a time if you can play them back to back in sequence. This would depend on your midi player's qualities, I would think. If your midi player can only play one track at a time and then has to be set up to play a second track then I think you will want to record them one at a time.

    To record multiple tracks, set the menu between "Record" and "Tracks" (just above the spectrum bar with the label "Test Recording Level" on the top menu bar of the Auxilary Input window, just to the right of the Options button).

    As for your other issue, you will find that you can fill in the information about Artist, genre and so forth and if you right-click on each track (such as the famous Track01) and select "Rename" you can apply titles to your tracks. These two features will prevent you from having bunches of unattributed Track01's trying to overwrite one another. You may find it helpful to create mock album titles as a further way to help order and distinguish these tracks.

    Hope this helps.
    Best wishes,
    Bill
    Last edited by xoas; 08-29-2005 at 07:18 PM.

  5. #5
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast Java's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    175

    Smile Re: dbpoweramp converter ?

    Thanks to all, appreciated.

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast Java's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    175

    Re: dbpoweramp converter ?/attn bill

    Hello, Bill I am old and dense so bear with me. I went to the areas spoke of in the last part of you post, I selected track one, I type in a name and filled in the rest of the areas as well. On track one I right clicked and type in the name of the song I was converting. It goes to my d/drive when I looked there after converting several songs, I found that it would list show several conversions and I would have to click on each one to see if it had any sound, when I found the one that did convert I deleted the rest.

    There must be something I am not doing correctly in the db conversion, would appreciate you thouhgts.

    Thanks

  7. #7
    dBpoweramp Guru ChristinaS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,097

    Re: dbpoweramp converter ?

    This might happen if you use the Auto Start and Auto Stop features. The auto start detects a little sound, it starts recording and then enough silence to think it has reached the end so it stops. Or you clicked yourself on stop somehow.

    That's why I said you should do one file at a time :smile2:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •