title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

wave to midi conversion

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Simmy
    • Apr 2005

wave to midi conversion

Hi all

sorry I am new to this music conversion stuff, but I wanted to convert my wave music or mp3 music files to midi but I cannot find a menu anywhere to do this

Am I just being stupid??

Simmy
  • ShaneR
    • Apr 2004

Re: wave to midi conversion

yep, being stupid ...Just kiddin'

Actually, you can not convert audio formats to midi...just can't be done. Midi files only contain data (instructions) that tell the computer what sound to trigger (along with tons of other performance data). Midi does not contain audio-it's basically a data file. So, converting an audio stream of any type to midi just can't be done.

That's the short answer

Comment

• LtData
      dBpoweramp Guru
      • May 2004

Not easily is the short answer, still want to continue? Converting From a Midi File A midi file needs all the special instrument sounds on your sound card, because of this dMC will not be able to convert from a midi file, however all is not lost. Connect the Line-out to the Line-in on your sound card. Download the

Short answer: No you cannot
      Long answer: You CAN, but it will probably end up sounding like crap.

Comment

• ShaneR
        • Apr 2004

Originally posted by LtData
        Long answer: You CAN, but it will probably end up sounding like crap.
        Exactly. But, I would replace "probably" with "will". The program linked to in the post pointed to above is an interesting exercise, but not much in the way of practicality.

I use midi daily as I'm a muscian with a home studio and it's no doubt given TONS to us amatuer and professional musicians. But, as for the listener of music, I don't think Midi and Audio should even be mentioned together.

My two cents (for what it's worth)

Comment

• ChristinaS
          dBpoweramp Guru