title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Error When Trying To Convert...

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    4

    Question Error When Trying To Convert...

    When I try to make a ringtone, an .mp3 ringtone, I'm getting this msg... The CODEC required to compress 'file name' could not be opened. How do i fix this??? :(

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru ChristinaS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,097

    Re: Error When Trying To Convert...

    Quote Originally Posted by wifey702
    When I try to make a ringtone, an .mp3 ringtone, I'm getting this msg... The CODEC required to compress 'file name' could not be opened. How do i fix this??? :(
    Do you have the PowerPack license with the dBpowerAMP music converter package? Is it valid (i.e. still in the 30-day trial period or have you bought the license for it?).

    You need a valid PowerPack in order to convert anything to mp3.

    After that you worry about the settings you use.

    You must have the codec to decode your input file as well, unless it's .wav which you have by default with the dBpowerAMP muci converter package anyway.

  3. #3
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    383

    Re: Error When Trying To Convert...

    Is the wave file of the ring tone shorter than 1 to 1.5 seconds?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    4

    Re: Error When Trying To Convert...

    Quote Originally Posted by ChristinaS
    Do you have the PowerPack license with the dBpowerAMP music converter package? Is it valid (i.e. still in the 30-day trial period or have you bought the license for it?).

    You need a valid PowerPack in order to convert anything to mp3.

    After that you worry about the settings you use.

    You must have the codec to decode your input file as well, unless it's .wav which you have by default with the dBpowerAMP muci converter package anyway.
    Ok, so where do I buy the power pack? I dont see it on the site anywhere. Thanks.

  5. #5
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast brandonjp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Chicago, USA
    Posts
    53

    Re: Error When Trying To Convert...

    the power pack can be purchased here:
    http://dbpoweramp.com/dmc-power-register.htm
    **note: whether you end up using dMC for this file or not...i highly recommend buying the power pack and cd writer - they will change your life!! (like tivo!)

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    1,290

    Re: Error When Trying To Convert...

    Quote Originally Posted by brandonjp
    they will change your life!! (like tivo!)
    tivo changes lives? lol. :D

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •