title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29

Thread: Mouse over audio files doesn't bring up stats of audio file

  1. #1
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    1,290

    Mouse over audio files doesn't bring up stats of audio file

    Ok, weird problem I've NEVER had happen before....

    I have the latest dMC and i've had it for 21 days so far. Today, all of a sudden, every time I put the mouse over an audio file, it doesn't bring up the "big-ass" explorer stat thingy that tells you what encoded the file, when it was made, artist, title, year, etc..... it doesn't show up anymore. Instead, it displays what should be displayed if I didnt' install dMC. Does anyone else have this problem?

    (I searched the forums for an answer, but I couldn't find one.)

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru LtData's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,332

    Re: Mouse over audio files doesn't bring up stats of audio file

    That's an option in dMC Configuration
    Start menu --> Programs --> dbPowerAmp Music Converter --> Configruation --> dMC Configuration

    Oh, and Happy New Year!

  3. #3
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    1,290

    Re: Mouse over audio files doesn't bring up stats of audio file

    Happy New Year to you too (over here it's still New Year's Eve)

    I already went to the dMC Configuration. It didn't help.

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru LtData's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,332

    Re: Mouse over audio files doesn't bring up stats of audio file

    Turn it off, hit OK, then go back and turn it on again?

  5. #5
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    383

    Re: Mouse over audio files doesn't bring up stats of audio file

    Quote Originally Posted by LtData
    Turn it off, hit OK, then go back and turn it on again?

    When that happened to me, to get it working I had to do what you recommended, but it only worked when I rebootted after turning it off and before turning it on again. Computers can be pesky little creatures!

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru ChristinaS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,097

    Re: Mouse over audio files doesn't bring up stats of audio file

    Windows Explorer > Tools > Folder Options > View > Show popup descriptions for folder and desktop items and then click on the Like Current Folder button.

  7. #7
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    1,290

    Re: Mouse over audio files doesn't bring up stats of audio file

    Quote Originally Posted by ChristinaS
    Windows Explorer > Tools > Folder Options > View > Show popup descriptions for folder and desktop items and then click on the Like Current Folder button.
    tried that. Didn't work.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,497

    Re: Mouse over audio files doesn't bring up stats of audio file

    Reboot, try other files such as wave files do they show info?

  9. #9
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    1,290

    Re: Mouse over audio files doesn't bring up stats of audio file

    tried that and nothing happened, Spoon

  10. #10
    dBpoweramp Guru ChristinaS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,097

    Re: Mouse over audio files doesn't bring up stats of audio file

    Quote Originally Posted by neilthecellist
    tried that and nothing happened, Spoon
    Do you have a pop-up killer that's all gong-ho on killing all forms of pop-ups?

  11. #11
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    383

    Re: Mouse over audio files doesn't bring up stats of audio file

    Quote Originally Posted by neilthecellist
    tried that and nothing happened, Spoon
    Did you try clicking once on an empty space of whatever window you are in and then placing mouse over audio file? I find that to be essential (easier to spell than 'unnnnecccessssary') most of the time.
    Arnie

  12. #12
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    1,290

    Re: Mouse over audio files doesn't bring up stats of audio file

    I have FireFox... but FireFox doesn't have to do with dMC , does it? (I uninstalled it and it still doesn't work)

    By the way, I just went back to dMC Release 10.3 . The problem is still there.

  13. #13
    dBpoweramp Guru ChristinaS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,097

    Re: Mouse over audio files doesn't bring up stats of audio file

    Quote Originally Posted by neilthecellist
    I have FireFox... but FireFox doesn't have to do with dMC , does it? (I uninstalled it and it still doesn't work)

    By the way, I just went back to dMC Release 10.3 . The problem is still there.
    FF won't have anything to do with dMC. WHen hovering over a file name, did you wait a second or two before deciding it's not showing up? It's not instantaneous.

    So you did apply the changes in Windows Explorer>Tools>Fodler Options> Enable pop-up info and ike Current Folder and also in dMC Configuration you enabled Windows Shell Integration with all options clicked (see attached pic)?

  14. #14
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    1,290

    Re: Mouse over audio files doesn't bring up stats of audio file

    yes i did that already....

  15. #15
    dBpoweramp Guru ChristinaS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,097

    Re: Mouse over audio files doesn't bring up stats of audio file

    Uninstall all of dMC from Control Panel>Add/Remove Programs - and I mean all: music converter and codecs (you'll see all under dBpowerAMP bla-bla).

    Clean up registry of all references to dBpowerAMP - carefully!

    reboot.

    Download and reinstall all the stuff again, carefully.

    All this while logged in as administrator, otherwise some things work and others don't.

    Reboot.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •