title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 

NOTE: Any posts to this forum on or after 16th April will disappear in few days when we transition to a new forum
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23

Thread: Asset UPnP is not showing up.

  1. #16

    Join Date
    Feb 2024
    Posts
    14

    Re: Asset UPnP is not showing up.

    Yes, a raw device description.

  2. #17

    Join Date
    Feb 2024
    Posts
    14

    Re: Asset UPnP is not showing up.

    Unfortunately, I am away for 5 days.
    But I will read your suggestions coming in and test them asap!
    Thanks to you all for helping me!

    Gr. Jos.

  3. #18

    Join Date
    Feb 2024
    Posts
    14

    Re: Asset UPnP is not showing up.

    Hi Peter, do you have any suggestions left?

  4. #19
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1,365

    Re: Asset UPnP is not showing up.

    I'm sorry but I couldn't come up with a good explanation for what you're experiencing.
    The Asset service is obviously running and is accessible from your network but isn't discoverable - discovery (multicast UDP packets) is somehow blocked or discarded.

    Are there any settings on your router that would prevent device discovery? Relevant keywords: multicast UDP, SSDP, UPnP

    Is the NAS connected to your network using wifi or ethernet? Can you try switching ethernet ports of your router that the NAS is connected to?
    At one point I had a faulty port in my router that caused packet loss and UPnP devices connected to it would show up in maybe 1 out of 10 attempts to list devices on the network, fixed by cycling ports.

  5. #20

    Join Date
    Feb 2024
    Posts
    14

    Re: Asset UPnP is not showing up.

    Thanks PeterP, tomorrow I will dive into your suggestions...

  6. #21

    Join Date
    Feb 2024
    Posts
    14

    Re: Asset UPnP is not showing up.

    Hi Peter,

    I can't find anything involved you mentioned. My NAS is connected with ethernet cables with a switch and also with cables from this switch to my computer and audio bridge. The Apple router is not directly involved. Using the Mac asset app, everything is working completely fine, but somehow the NAS/Asset is not advertising properly or something else is blocking, as you noted. A difficult one...

    Gr. Jos.
    Last edited by Jgeffen; 02-26-2024 at 09:24 AM.

  7. #22
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    443

    Re: Asset UPnP is not showing up.

    I assume all your other devices are discovering the NAS successfully i.e. you don't have to type the IP of the NAS in to access it?

    What's the IP address and subnet mask of the NAS and one of the devices you're trying to connect with?

    Failing all that I'd verify that it's the NAS by installing another UPnP server.

  8. #23

    Join Date
    Feb 2024
    Posts
    14

    Smile Re: Asset UPnP is not showing up.

    Solved!!

    You brought me on the idea to change my fixed IP address that I was using for years already, and that was helping. Stupid that I didn't try this before.

    After that I searched in my Router configuration for what was blocking and found a Mac-address reservation I put in years ago for my previous NAS.

    So, my fault and sorry for this! I thought PeterP already mentioned this in one of his suggestions too.

    Thank you all for helping me out!

    Best regards from The Netherlands!

    Jos
    Last edited by Jgeffen; 02-29-2024 at 06:23 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •