title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Total noob: want to rip my CDs into WMA lossless (not doing FLAC, long story)

Total noob: want to rip my CDs into WMA lossless (not doing FLAC, long story)

Hello,

Before I buy a license I want to make sure I can rip CDs into WMA lossless (not lossy WMA).

Is this problem and how would you do this? Waiting for my CD drive to arrive, so can’t try right now.

Thank you

dBpoweramp Enthusiast

Re: Total noob: want to rip my CDs into WMA lossless (not doing FLAC, long story)

Have a read through Spoon's resources, including the associated links here: https://www.dbpoweramp.com/cd-ripper-setup-guide.htm

Not much else you can do without a drive. Just be prepared to do a bunch of test rips to explore and tune how things work before you start for real.

By the way, I personally would not rip to .WMA, although CD Ripper can do this. For lossless, I would not use anything other than FLAC.
    Last edited by BOOTP; 04-21-2023 at 11:34 AM.

dBpoweramp Enthusiast

Re: Total noob: want to rip my CDs into WMA lossless (not doing FLAC, long story)

Yes, on Windows machines only though. Details are on the info page for CD Ripper.
    CD Ripper

On my aftermarket radio, my choices are: MP3 AAC WMA. So out of those three WMA lossless would seem to be the best.
    Can you explain what you mean by:
    &*8220;bunch of test rips to explore and tune how things work before you start for real.&*8221;

Does this software have a lot of errors? I&*8217;ll read that link now. Thank you

dBpoweramp Enthusiast

No error problems with dBPoweramp. But there could be issues with your player.