title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New CD Ripper user, setup questions

New CD Ripper user, setup questions

Hello - I am new to dBpoweramp and this is my first post to any of the forums.

Over the years I have accumulated a couple hundred CD/SACD/DVD-A discs, mostly CDs, less than 50 SACDs and a handful of DVD-A discs. Best I can tell from reading online, SACD DSD and DVD-A cannot be ripped. Thankfully, most of my SACDs are Hybrids so at least standard Red Book can be ripped from those.

Downloaded the CD Ripper trial subscription and have ripped a few CDs and SACDs (Red Book stereo layer) to get a feel for how the program works. Using a new Dell DW316 external drive for ripping, found the offset for this drive online and entered it into CD Ripper. I am ripping from CD/SACD to FLAC and then a second time to WAV. See question below.

My player is a Cambridge Audio Azur 851N, recently acquired new, so another learning curve. Using line level RCA outputs from the 851N to a stereo amp. Very simple setup for now:

Saving rips to a laptop internal SSD drive (currently the master files/folders)
    Copying ripped files/folders to a USB thumb drive
    Ejecting the drive
    Plug the drive directly into the 851N
    Repeat for additional rips. Controlling playback from the 851N front panel/remote.

This is all a different world for a lifelong analog guy! Couple of CD Ripper questions below, any responses/info appreciated.

1. Replay Gain. I have DSP ReplayGain selected, I probably did this after reading various posts here. Best I can tell, this does not change the FLAC or WAV files. Does anyone know if my 851N will, or can, use this setting during playback?