title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Thread: Scratched CDs - should I do an 8kb Transfers pass before moving on to Ultra Secure?

Scratched CDs - should I do an 8kb Transfers pass before moving on to Ultra Secure?

Hello!

I'm new to this stuff, but I've been reading a lot on this forum over the past few days, and think I have a decent grasp on the more basic concepts thanks to all of the more knowledgeable people here. However, I am a bit unsure of whether or not the 8kb Transfers option is something I should attempt before moving on in my process.

I found an old CD binder with about 200 discs in it - a small portion of them in good shape, but most pretty scratched.

1. I started with an Accurate Rip pass, placing all albums that were 100% verified in a folder, and deleting/cancelling the rest of the rips as I went. Managed to get 35 of the 200 AR verified.

2. Tested my drive for C2Pointers. During testing, a clean disc presented no errors, a very scratched disc almost immediately threw errors, a relatively scratched disc threw errors at about 30%, and the same clean disc from the first test with a sharpie triangle drawn on it threw errors at about 40% where it was drawn.

3. So, assuming C2 Pointers were working well, I did a 2nd pass on the remaining 165 CDs - 8 came back Accurate Rip verified. Unless I'm misunderstanding, that would point to the fact that 8 of the 165 just had read errors the first time, and the rest were, in fact, damaged. I think this confirms C2 Pointers are working well?

So my next step was going to be to try and clean the remaining 157 CDs (using the SkipDr. product which someone in another thread mentioned working well), before what I assume is going to be the long process of a final pass with Ultra Secure settings.

So my questions are: