title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 44

Thread: CODEC required could not be opened

  1. #1

    CODEC required could not be opened

    I've seen a few references to this problem on Usenet, but so far no
    solutions.

    I have Dbpoweramp installed (no PowerPack) with a number of codecs. So far, it has always worked fine for me. But now when I try to convert a file, the programme suddenly says 'The CODEC required to convert xxx could not be opened'. I first noticed it when I tried to convert an mp3 to a WAV. I haven't checked all the other formats, but trying out one or two seemed to suggest that the problem is programme wide, i.e. it's not restricted to the wav-writer codec.

    The required codecs are certainly available, and I've already tried
    uninstalling and reinstalling the programme, but that doesn't help.

    Does anybody have an idea what the problem might be?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,886

    Re: CODEC required could not be opened

    >'The CODEC required to convert

    It should be either:

    'The CODEC required to compress

    or

    'The CODEC required to decompress

    ?

  3. #3

    Re: CODEC required could not be opened

    Sorry. It's 'the codec to decompress' that can't be opened.

    Compressing from wav to, for instance, mp3, does seem to work.

    (And maybe I should say that this is on a WinXP system.)

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,886

    Re: CODEC required could not be opened

    Convert any wave file to mp3 using dMC, then try to convert that mp3 to wave, still get the error?

  5. #5

    Re: CODEC required could not be opened

    Yes.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,886

    Re: CODEC required could not be opened

    Try uninstalling dMC, then install the latest version.

  7. #7
    Unregistered

    Re: CODEC required could not be opened

    I get a simmilar problem trying to convert to WMA professional.

    'the codec required to compress ______ could not be opened'

    im trying to rip from a cd to 'VBR Quality 98, 44 kHz 5.1 channel 16 bit VBR'
    Ive already tried reinstalling the program, and windows media 9, but no luck.

    If you could also help me that would be great.

    -Snailman

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,886

    Re: CODEC required could not be opened

    For any WMA Pro, with the 5.1 channels - it will only compress if the source is 6 channels, a CD is only 2.

  9. #9

    Re: CODEC required could not be opened

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon
    Try uninstalling dMC, then install the latest version.
    I already tried that, and it didn't work. I can try again, and also un-install all the plugins first, and then re-install those, but I doubt that this will have any effect. E.g., I wouldn't install it to a different directory.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,886

    Re: CODEC required could not be opened

    You can perhaps install the Lame CLI encoder from Codec central.

  11. #11

    Re: CODEC required could not be opened

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon
    You can perhaps install the Lame CLI encoder from Codec central.
    There seems to be no need to, after all.
    I did as I said: uninstall not only the programme, but also all the codecs I had installed. I rebooted and then reinstalled the programme and some of the codecs, and at first sight things seem back to normal (at least I could create a wav-file from an mp3). Thanks for the patience.

  12. #12
    Unregistered

    Re: CODEC required could not be opened

    I have had a similar problem converting FLAC to MP3. It worked the first time, now when I try on other files I get the same error "The codec required to decompress could not be opened". I have re-installed the FLAC codec but have not re-installed the software. I also rebooted thinking the software had not "let go" of the FLAC codec. I have tried at various quality settings as well, in addition to attempting to convert using the right click menu and the program icon.

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,886

    Re: CODEC required could not be opened

    1 or more bad FLAC files?

  14. #14
    Unregistered

    Re: CODEC required could not be opened

    I'm have the exact same problem converting FLAC files (codec could not be opened). I've now tried:
    -uninstalling and reinstalling dbAmp and codecs (on both PCs)
    -using multiple FLAC files from different sources (on both PCs)

    No luck. I know the FLACs are good because I ended up converting them with with the WinAmp/ Nero plugin. I'd rather use the dbAmp.

    Any ideas? Thanks.

  15. #15
    Unregistered

    Re: CODEC required could not be opened

    I'm having the same problem with FLAC. All the other file types work fine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •