title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Help! Asset is suddenly draining my Synology CPU and RAM!

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    22

    Help! Asset is suddenly draining my Synology CPU and RAM!

    Playback from my music streamer (streaming from my Synology NAS) stopped after 1 track tonight and has strugged to resume, both from the streamer itself and from my Android app. I noticed that, suddently, the CPU and RAM usage (500mb to 1GB memory!) on my NAS is sky high and Asset is the culprit. I've rebooted the NAS and re-indexed Asset's media files, but it doesn't seem to be making a difference.

    Does anyone know what might be causing this?

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Oxfurdshy'r
    Posts
    130

    Re: Help! Asset is suddenly draining my Synology CPU and RAM!

    I have the same; I posted about it some time back & was told it was normal with the latest revision.
    That was when my RAM went from what was normal aprx 25-28% up to 35-38%
    Now with R7.2 is up at 45-48%
    However its not causing any functional issues that I've found

    Synology DS214
    CPU Marvell Armada XP
    Dual Core 1.066 GHz
    System Memory 512 MB DDR3

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,515

    Re: Help! Asset is suddenly draining my Synology CPU and RAM!

    How many tracks do you both have?

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Oxfurdshy'r
    Posts
    130

    Re: Help! Asset is suddenly draining my Synology CPU and RAM!

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    How many tracks do you both have?
    9664 tracks

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,515

    Re: Help! Asset is suddenly draining my Synology CPU and RAM!

    To both also, Mike you see a high CPU usage?

    The cpu would be used when scanning the tracks, we would not expect any cpu usage when the NAS is not indexing, unless something is hammering the browse tree.

    In the past we have found certain brands of TVs which try to browse the entire tree, well Assets tree is infinite as it is dynamic, we put provisions in to stop this but could be a different brand has found a way around our work.

    The way to see if this is happening, restart the nas, ensure there is no indexing happening and enable the debug log, wait for the CPU usage to spike and send us the debug log (then disable the logging).

    The logging options are on the settings page.

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Oxfurdshy'r
    Posts
    130

    Re: Help! Asset is suddenly draining my Synology CPU and RAM!

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    To both also, Mike you see a high CPU usage?
    No, or at least not when running (playing)
    When on idle it moves around the 4-8% mark, when playing its changing between 6-20%
    It goes up to 30-60% when backing up or loading a new album, 80-90% for a few seconds when starting up & also some other stuff
    Last edited by Mike-B; 03-04-2021 at 09:40 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •