title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Can't read SHM-SACD to rip to DSD64

  1. #1

    Can't read SHM-SACD to rip to DSD64

    I have a few SHM-SACD's and they cannot be read for ripping to DSD64. I don't know if it has any bearing on the issue but these discs are green. I have a few other SACD's that won't read. Anyone else experience this? Advice? Thanks!

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,795

    Re: Can't read SHM-SACD to rip to DSD64

    If the disc is a Hybrid SACD it will have 2 layers, the hi-res DSD layer and the red-book audio CD layer.

    If the disc is a Single layer SACD, it will only have the hi-res DSD layer.

    dBpoweramp Music Converter only reads the red-book audio CD layer, NOT the hi-res DSD layer, so can only read Hybrid SACDs.

  3. #3

    Re: Can't read SHM-SACD to rip to DSD64

    Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    If the disc is a Hybrid SACD it will have 2 layers, the hi-res DSD layer and the red-book audio CD layer.

    If the disc is a Single layer SACD, it will only have the hi-res DSD layer.

    dBpoweramp Music Converter only reads the red-book audio CD layer, NOT the hi-res DSD layer, so can only read Hybrid SACDs.
    I'm using CD Ripper and not Music Converter. I've ripped several dozen other SACD's to DSD64 without issue.

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,795

    Re: Can't read SHM-SACD to rip to DSD64

    Quote Originally Posted by timztunz2 View Post
    I'm using CD Ripper and not Music Converter.
    Yes, CD Ripper is one of the tools in the dBpoweramp Music Converter suite.

    Quote Originally Posted by timztunz2 View Post
    I've ripped several dozen other SACD's to DSD64 without issue.
    Then those SACDs will be hybrid SACDs and you are only ripping the audio CD layer and NOT the hi-res DSD layer.

  5. #5

    Re: Can't read SHM-SACD to rip to DSD64

    Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    Yes, CD Ripper is one of the tools in the dBpoweramp Music Converter suite.



    Then those SACDs will be hybrid SACDs and you are only ripping the audio CD layer and NOT the hi-res DSD layer.
    I'm really sorry to be such a noob but does that mean when I rip a hybrid SACD to DSD64 at about 2GB per album compared to about 300MB for FLAC 16/44.1 of the same album that I'm just eating up hard drive space and not getting any better sound quality

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,486

    Re: Can't read SHM-SACD to rip to DSD64

    Yes, you are up-converting 44KHz 16 bit to DSD, the only thing which can read the DSD layer is a specially hacked PS3

  7. #7

    Re: Can't read SHM-SACD to rip to DSD64

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    Yes, you are up-converting 44KHz 16 bit to DSD, the only thing which can read the DSD layer is a specially hacked PS3
    Well crap. Thank you.

    But is there any advantage in doing that?
    Last edited by timztunz2; 01-25-2021 at 12:05 PM.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,486

    Re: Can't read SHM-SACD to rip to DSD64

    Unlikely

  9. #9
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    5,027

    Re: Can't read SHM-SACD to rip to DSD64

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    Unlikely
    I would actually say NONE whatsoever. (unless you have some sort of very specialized DAC that only works well with upconverted files.....but this is very unlikely).

  10. #10
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,795

    Re: Can't read SHM-SACD to rip to DSD64

    Quote Originally Posted by timztunz2 View Post
    I'm really sorry to be such a noob but does that mean when I rip a hybrid SACD to DSD64 at about 2GB per album compared to about 300MB for FLAC 16/44.1 of the same album that I'm just eating up hard drive space and not getting any better sound quality
    Correct. Personally, I rip my hybrid SACDs as FLAC 16/44.1 files, just like any other audio CD.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •