title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Windows Explorer won't show bit rate, length - DBPA has taken over

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    14

    Windows Explorer won't show bit rate, length - DBPA has taken over

    I installed the free version of DBPA just to take it for a test drive. Upon doing so, I am noticing that in Windows Explorer (7), it is not showing the bit rate and length (probably others as well) when I want to see that on a particular song(s). I instead have to go song-to-song using right-click, properties/audio properties tab - to then show the information. Why did DBPA takeover my Explorer?

    I'm concerned that if I uninstall it that maybe it has caused irreparable harm to that area. Further, I won't have the benefit of trying out the product. And if I buy the full version, will this also not allow me to see the bit rate or length in the columns under windows explorer.
    To be clear, I can choose the columns I want to view in Windows Explorer - so I have bit rate and length showing along the top row such as Name / Album Title / Type / Size / etc. But under Bit Rate and Length, it won't show me the respective data. I can say with 100% certainty that it did before I installed this free DBPA program.

    I would appreciate any input. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,714

    Re: Windows Explorer won't show bit rate, length - DBPA has taken over

    Run dBpoweramp Control Centre >> Advanced Settings

    Uncheck 'Thumbnail and property handler'

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    14

    Re: Windows Explorer won't show bit rate, length - DBPA has taken over

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    Run dBpoweramp Control Centre >> Advanced Settings

    Uncheck 'Thumbnail and property handler'
    That did the trick. Now, is there something else to check or uncheck if I buy this program? I had tested this and noticed it sort of took over the whole windows explorer area. While convenient in some respects, and giving you more control over metadata for example, I'm wondering if I can hide/un-hide DBPA in Windows Explore if I want?
    Thanks for the quick reply!

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,714

    Re: Windows Explorer won't show bit rate, length - DBPA has taken over

    The options are there to configure exactly as you require.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    14

    Re: Windows Explorer won't show bit rate, length - DBPA has taken over

    Would you be able to provide where to configure (settings to check) so that my normal windows explorer view can be restored if I decide not to view using DBPA? I don't mean totally uninstalling. I would just like to know where the options are. Or did your previous instruction make that a reality already? (I can't tell because I don't have the full trial version I guess) Thanks!

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,714

    Re: Windows Explorer won't show bit rate, length - DBPA has taken over

    dBpoweramp does not change the view in Windows explorer, however searching in google will show how to change the view.

  7. #7
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    5,079

    Re: Windows Explorer won't show bit rate, length - DBPA has taken over

    Spoon's prior advice (copied below) will remove the dbpa interactions with windows explorer. You don't need to do anything else. If you want the dbpa interaction back in explorer, just tick the "thumbnail and property handler" again.

    Run dBpoweramp Control Centre >> Advanced Settings

    Uncheck 'Thumbnail and property handler'

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    14

    Re: Windows Explorer won't show bit rate, length - DBPA has taken over

    Thank you for that. Quick question, all I really want is the music convertor, so I can convert .wav, .aiff, and .flac to ALAC, MP3 or other things your software shows as working. I don't really need to use the CD Burning portion. Is there a way to just buy the convertor program? And, if I purchase and install on my Windows 7 computer and then build or upgrade to Windows 10, will my license carry over if I buy just a single machine license? I'm planning on getting W10 sometime in the near future. Thank you.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,714

    Re: Windows Explorer won't show bit rate, length - DBPA has taken over

    You can easily move the install between machines, the install link stays active.

    CD Ripper is part of Music Converter, they come together.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    14

    Re: Windows Explorer won't show bit rate, length - DBPA has taken over

    I purchased the program. After downloading, I opened the .exe file (after payment it shows "Install Registered Software" and saved it but nothing happened. So I waited a bit and tried it again. I then went to the program which was already installed (trial version) and thought maybe I would just update it with a code or whatever. Which, BTW, I never received a code other than the Order Number. Shouldn't there be a place to enter in a code? Anyway, I was ready to try to use the fully registered version but alas, nothing happened. If I open the trial version and click Register DPBA, I get the screen that asks me to purchase it. I already did!
    Please advise.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    14

    Re: Windows Explorer won't show bit rate, length - DBPA has taken over

    Just a quick update to say that, after I sent this note to you, I noticed a screen saying "Processing Installer" but that's a good 5 minutes at least after I downloaded (and probably more like 10). Does it really take this long to install? Before finishing this reply, I waited another good 5 minutes or more and that Processing Installer is still showing. I have Windows 7 machine with 64bit. I have plenty of HD space, plenty of speed on processor and lots of RAM. This should install more quickly or perhaps, more likely, it's not installing period. Please advise.

  12. #12
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    5,079

    Re: Windows Explorer won't show bit rate, length - DBPA has taken over

    Quote Originally Posted by bubbascant View Post
    Just a quick update to say that, after I sent this note to you, I noticed a screen saying "Processing Installer" but that's a good 5 minutes at least after I downloaded (and probably more like 10). Does it really take this long to install? Before finishing this reply, I waited another good 5 minutes or more and that Processing Installer is still showing. I have Windows 7 machine with 64bit. I have plenty of HD space, plenty of speed on processor and lots of RAM. This should install more quickly or perhaps, more likely, it's not installing period. Please advise.

    seems odd. Typically the order receipt email has a link for downloading an install file. download the install file to your PC, then Double click on this install file and it typically installs in a matter of seconds.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    14

    Re: Windows Explorer won't show bit rate, length - DBPA has taken over

    Seriously, why is this taking SO long to install??? It has been probably 20 minutes or more and it is still not finished installing. I keep seeing the Processing Installer screen, though I did see a couple of popups asking me to install. I worry that this contained a virus or something. What gives? And I was doing some other computer work and something that took seconds, took a couple of minutes as though your program has taken over control of things. VERY concerned.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    14

    Re: Windows Explorer won't show bit rate, length - DBPA has taken over

    It FINALLY installed. I closed everything and rebooted as requested. The program shows as fully registered, no restrictions. There is no place to register though as far as the program goes. Normally you input a code but it appears your install did that, and/or didn't require it.

    Okay so now I tested a conversion of a .wav file to an MP3. It default using the VBR and not CBR. I've always converted MP3s in CBR. Do you have a preference? I know the differences in how it works, but wondered what your stance is for the best quality?

    Wish me luck. I am not sure what happened either on the install - but I did also notice this took an exceptionally long time when I installed the free version. Thanks.

  15. #15
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    5,079

    Re: Windows Explorer won't show bit rate, length - DBPA has taken over

    Quote Originally Posted by bubbascant View Post
    It FINALLY installed. I closed everything and rebooted as requested. The program shows as fully registered, no restrictions. There is no place to register though as far as the program goes. Normally you input a code but it appears your install did that, and/or didn't require it.

    Okay so now I tested a conversion of a .wav file to an MP3. It default using the VBR and not CBR. I've always converted MP3s in CBR. Do you have a preference? I know the differences in how it works, but wondered what your stance is for the best quality?

    Wish me luck. I am not sure what happened either on the install - but I did also notice this took an exceptionally long time when I installed the free version. Thanks.

    there is no registration code to enter. The "install" download already knows you are a registered user when the .exe is provided to you. When I make lossy copies for my smart phone/tablet, I use VBR. More efficient use of space. And anyhow, I have the main archive as lossless (FLAC in my case) and I can create new lossy files of any type anytime I want.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •