title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: CD-Ripper introducing leading space?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    4

    CD-Ripper introducing leading space?

    Hi there,

    CD-Ripper seems to introduce a leading space wenn I use Programmable or Dynamic Naming. My naming algorithm looks like this:

    [IFCOMP][album][IFMULTI] - CD [disc][]/[track] - [artist] - [MAXLENGTH]50,[title][][] [IF!COMP][IFVALUE]composer,[IFVALUE]album artist,[composer]/[album artist]/[MAXLENGTH]50,[album][]/[IFMULTI]CD [disc][]/[track]- [MAXLENGTH]50,[title][],[composer]/[MAXLENGTH]50,[album][]/[IFMULTI]CD [disc][]/[track] - [artist] - [MAXLENGTH]50,[title][][],[IFVALUE]album artist,[album artist]/[MAXLENGTH]50,[album][][IFMULTI] CD [disc][]/[track]- [MAXLENGTH]50,[title][],[album][IFMULTI] CD [disc][]/[track]- [MAXLENGTH]50,[title][][][][]


    There are no leading spaces in the tag fields but in the resulting folder hierarchy the topmost folder name has a leading space.
    E.g. If rip a -non compilation- CD with the following tags
    Composer: "Johann Sebastian Bach"
    Album Artist: "Nikolaus Harnoncourt"
    Album: "Famous Choruses from Sacred Cantatas"
    title: "Cantata No. 147, "Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben," BWV 147 (BC A174): Chorus: Herz Und Mund und Tat und Leben"
    I get the following result string: " Johann Sebastian Bach/Nikolaus Harnoncourt/Famous Choruses from Sacred Cantatas/01- Cantata No. 147, "Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben,_", which has this unexpected leading space.

    What am I getting wrong?

    Regards,
    Ludwig

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,301

    Re: CD-Ripper introducing leading space?

    Check on the naming editor that there is no space before the very first [IFCOMP] and that the path setup to rip to has no space on the end.

    Also ensure you are using the latest version of dBpoweramp.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    4

    Re: CD-Ripper introducing leading space?

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    Check on the naming editor that there is no space before the very first [IFCOMP] and that the path setup to rip to has no space on the end.

    Also ensure you are using the latest version of dBpoweramp.
    Sorry, forgot to mention that sofar I run R16.8 under Catalina.
    Thanks for the advice, Spoon. I did as you said. There was no space before the very first [IFCOMP] and the path setup to rip to had no space on the end. I then downloaded the trial version of R 17.3, used it, and the leading space disappeared. I find it sad that as a happy user of R16.8 I am forced to upgrade not for a new feature but for a bug fix. Or maybe I am misunderstanding something here?

    regards,
    Ludwig

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,301

    Re: CD-Ripper introducing leading space?

    If you are ripping CDs then R17 is very much needed for the recent external metadata provider changes:

    https://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthr...6-R15-R14-etc)

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1,052

    Re: CD-Ripper introducing leading space?

    The extra space does seem to come from your pattern:
    Code:
    ...[][] [IF!COMP]...
    It appears that updated filename sanitization behaviors of R17 remove it, but you don't really need R17 work around this.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    4

    Re: CD-Ripper introducing leading space?

    Thanks again for the hint. I just bought R17.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    4

    Re: CD-Ripper introducing leading space?

    Thank you very much. I stand corrected. I checked for the space before the [IFCOMP] but not before the [IF!COMP].

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •