title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Synology. How to upgrade to V7 - will I lose config?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    24

    Synology. How to upgrade to V7 - will I lose config?

    In the absence of any upgrade link within the product I am guessing that I have to uninstall the current version first.

    Will I lose all of my custom configuration?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,123

    Re: Synology. How to upgrade to V7 - will I lose config?

    You will not.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    24

    Re: Synology. How to upgrade to V7 - will I lose config?

    Thanks for the info, appreciate it.

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    109

    Re: Synology. How to upgrade to V7 - will I lose config?

    Why not make a copy of & save your config settings that are in "Edit Browse Tree as Plain Text"
    Its a simple copy/paste if & when you might need it, its like an HDD backup.
    Last edited by Mike-B; 11-04-2020 at 06:27 AM.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    11

    Re: Synology. How to upgrade to V7 - will I lose config?

    Include playlist ?

    Tanks .

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    24

    Re: Synology. How to upgrade to V7 - will I lose config?

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    You will not.
    Just got round to doing this and I have lost my configuration.

    I previously had it set to only show browsing by folder on my renderers. Now it has reverted to a default display of all kinds of options I had got rid of before (Artist, Album, etc.).

    Worse is that now I have gone through and deleted all of the entries in the tree that I don't want, leaving just Playlists and "Folders and Filename browsing" but it only shows playlists on my renderers.

    The only one I really want is to be able to browse the folder structure on my NAS which is Artist folders alphabetical with their albums in each.

    That was how I had it before but now I can't get it back.

    UPDATE: Have got it to work now by using the "Edit Browse Tree as plain text" option. For some reason editing it using the "Edit Browse Tree" UI made it think it was looking for files and folders IN Playlists.
    Last edited by tim091; 11-26-2020 at 07:44 AM.

  7. #7
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Lancs
    Posts
    69

    Re: Synology. How to upgrade to V7 - will I lose config?

    Glad you got it sorted out. I must admit my first reaction to your post was that you had somehow lost the link to the "Watched Folder" which held all your audio files.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    24

    Re: Synology. How to upgrade to V7 - will I lose config?

    No, that was still recognised, and it was pulling in the playlists which are in the same location. All seems to be working now(and I was able to rename "Folders & Filename browsing" to "My Music".

    Annoyed that it overwrote my settings with a default configuration after upgrading though.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •