title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Apply Track Offset

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    6

    Apply Track Offset

    I love the CD Ripper, but do have a (very minor) criticism.
    Would it be a good idea to change the 'Apply Track Number Offset' from a Pull-Down to an EditBox where we could simply type in a number.
    I find that a lot of the time I'm having to use the pull-down several times as the offset I'm trying to apply isn't one listed.

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,330

    Re: Apply Track Offset

    Let me guess, you're trying to rip a multidisc album, do you?


    Dat Ei

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    6

    Re: Apply Track Offset

    Yep, lots of them ;-)

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,330

    Re: Apply Track Offset

    Just my 2 cents: I don't think that the offset method is the best practice. I prefer the method of using the disc number and track number in the naming as well as in the meta data. This way you can still tell which track is on which disc (in case of re-ripping or the wish to listen to the CD), the tracks can be sorted alphabetically by file explorers and dumb audio players, and good audio players can use the meta data.


    Dat Ei

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    6

    Re: Apply Track Offset

    I like to rip to a 'single' album, as the original disk No./track No. is just a 'feature' inherited from the max capacity of a CD.

    I should add that a lot of what I'm ripping are audio plays/books and some players will play track No.10 before track No.9 because of the Ascii order.
    This is disastrous when it's a play or audio book.
    Last edited by Amgard; 07-21-2020 at 06:00 AM.

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,330

    Re: Apply Track Offset

    Quote Originally Posted by Amgard View Post
    I should add that a lot of what I'm ripping are audio plays/books and some players will play track No.10 before track No.9 because of the Ascii order.
    Therefore I suggest to use the disc number (two digits) and track number (two digits) in combination. If you use the offset method you will have even more problems with players that have a problem with the Ascii order.


    Dat Ei

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    6

    Re: Apply Track Offset

    You're missing the point. I like the function that track offset gives, just not the GUI that gets me there.
    I understand you neither like track offsets or find a use a use for them, and that's your choice. But it isn't mine.

  8. #8
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,726

    Re: Apply Track Offset

    Quote Originally Posted by Dat Ei View Post
    Therefore I suggest to use the disc number (two digits) and track number (two digits) in combination. If you use the offset method you will have even more problems with players that have a problem with the Ascii order.
    I couldn't agree more. The track offset feature is nonsense IMO and is more trouble than it's worth. I find the the use of disc number in ALL albums, a much better solution.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •