title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Thread: Offset's and Confidence

Offset's and Confidence

Hi There,

I am new to dBpoweramp and would like some help. I have just received the following message and would like to understand exactly what it means.

Information ripping to FLAC, 'Track 1' to 'D:\CD Music\Various Artists\Big Band 'Swing' Hits, Disc 1\01 Vic Schoen - Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy [Andrews Sisters].flac'
    AccurateRip Verified Using Pressing Offset -3, Confidence 1 [new crc d0993d43]

(I actually got this message for every track on the CD)

1. I believe the offset suggests a difference between my CD drive and the one used to check to Rip. What should I be concerned about with Offsets.

2. Is a high or low confidence number good or bad?

dBpoweramp Guru

Re: Offset's and Confidence

The pressing offset is a manufacturing thing. When a CD sells a lot of copies or is re-released, a new master is made to "press" the CDs. There are likely to be minor differences in exactly where the audio starts for each track from the first masters. (as you may have discovered, on CDs, the audio doesn't start exactly at the "zero" time on the CD, for several reasons involving both the manufacturing and the way consumer players work.) Anyway, because of this there are likely to be copies of the "same" CD for some releases with many copies sold or which have been released and available for a long time with different offsets. So this copy of the CD has the third pressing offset reported to accuraterip.