title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: seperate Flac stereo from flac multichannel..?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    30

    seperate Flac stereo from flac multichannel..?

    Hi there, just wonder if asset can list/display the above two kinds of flac files in two different lists.
    I see there is a "contains" folder and a "details" folder, can one of these be used to show a difference in the album title if all my multichannel albums contain "DTS-CD" in the title, for example.
    I am not really sure how to go about this..
    ideas anyone.. thanks
    cheers CD
    Last edited by doobre; 10-16-2019 at 11:25 PM.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,904

    Re: seperate Flac stereo from flac multichannel..?

    There is no current provision to separate the channel count when browsing.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    30

    Re: seperate Flac stereo from flac multichannel..?

    Thanks for the quick responce Spoon, would the "contains" option in the browse tree be possible to detect a suffix to the filename or the album title.? such as "DTS".. or am I misunderstanding that function?
    Thanks for any advice.
    cheers CD

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,904

    Re: seperate Flac stereo from flac multichannel..?

    It does not work like that, the best way is to (if you have dBpoweramp):

    Install utility codec 'ID Tag Update'

    Batch Converter >> select whole music library >> list, then sort on channel count, select the 2 channel items (click at top and hold shift and click at bottom), then click check mark to uncheck. Now you have a list of just > 2 channel tracks, click Convert on the list page, choose the encoder as 'ID Tag Update' and set to add a new ID Tag, call it 'Multichannel' with a value of '1', do the 'Conversion' which will add that tag.

    Then add this new tag to asset database and browse tree, and rescan all:

    https://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthr...-Tags-to-Asset

  5. #5

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    30

    Re: seperate Flac stereo from flac multichannel..?

    That's a great idea, thanks. I have been a dBpamp user for many years, I'll give it a go.. thanks again
    cheers CD

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,627

    Re: seperate Flac stereo from flac multichannel..?

    Yes, the method suggested by Spoon works. I use it to separate my library in a single Asset instance.

    In ALL my music files I have created a custom tag named library.

    The library tag is then populated with the following values, based on filetype, resolution and no. of channels:
    flac (for 2ch, 16-bit, 44.1kHz flacs)
    hi-res (for 2ch, non 16-bit, 44.1kHz flacs)
    hi-res 5.1 (for 6ch, non 16-bit, 44.1kHz flacs)
    mp3, AC-3 and DTS

    For more information, see this thread: Multiple Libraries

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •